Source language: Translate to:

I'M CONFUSED

General questions about NeoBook

Moderator: Neosoft Support

I'M CONFUSED

Postby StarterPack » Mon Apr 11, 2016 1:13 am

I build my app in 1024x768 and when i run the compiled .exe file on another pc with 1280x768 resolution, the program don't fit in the screen. I don't see the buttons on the bottom. Even if I set the resolution higher.
StarterPack
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2016 6:55 am

Re: I'M CONFUSED

Postby StarterPack » Mon Apr 11, 2016 11:31 pm

Hi Guys, still need your help! What did i do wrong? Is it because of Containers in my pub or what? What i don't understand is that when i build a program in 800x600 resolution, and open it up on my other pc with 1360x768 it fits nicely on the screen. Somehow i need to tell the program to stay at 800x600 resolution when i opened it. Well, i'm confused by my own words now : )
Any help - Thank You
StarterPack
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2016 6:55 am

Re: I'M CONFUSED

Postby HPW » Tue Apr 12, 2016 12:44 am

Hello,

When you setup the size in neobook, then you define the inner area of the window.

You may check this variables: (from the doc)

[WindowWidth] The width of the publication window including the border and scroll bars (if any).
[WindowHeight] The height of the publication window including the title bar, border and scroll bars (if any).

They may differ on different PC when the system-setup use a themed view or have different settings for border and titlebar.

Regards
Hans-Peter
User avatar
HPW
 
Posts: 2510
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 11:24 pm
Location: Germany

Re: I'M CONFUSED

Postby StarterPack » Tue Apr 12, 2016 2:23 am

Hi HPW

I know about the inner windows width and heights, but when i build my app on my pc (pc is 1280x960 resolution), it fits in the screen because it's higher than 1024x768. But when i opened it up in another pc with the same resolution 1280x960, it don't fit... In fact, it cuts off a piece of the bottom of my app. I put buttons on the bottom, and now i can't see them because of that. But i'm still a learner and guess i had to learn the hard way. Thanks for all the help you guys give me. :D
StarterPack
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2016 6:55 am

Re: I'M CONFUSED

Postby Gaev » Tue Apr 12, 2016 5:18 am

StarterPack:

a) Provide screen shots (entire screen area; not just your publication window) on each computer ... in both cases, run the .exe file (not Design Mode of NeoBook)

b) Post the values for Book >>> SIze/Colors and Book >>> Window configurations of your publication

c) Post the "left,top" position of the Buttons that don't fit on the other computer's screen

d) Tell us the Windows version on each computer ... on my Windows 10 machine, I can set it up to display everything magnified or shrunk ... this is in addition to the same facility that my Chrome Browser provides ... not all applications honor the Windows magnification, so I do not know how NeoBook exe files behave ... so you may have to check this parameter in both machines.

Is it because of Containers in my pub or what?

You should be able to answer this yourself ... just build a dummy (one page) pub ... no containers ... just a Button at the same "left,top" co-ordinates as your problematic pub ... see how it behaves in the other machine.

Following up on HPW's suggestion, you can code this temporarily ...
Code: Select all
AlertBox "Publication Window" "[WindowWidth] ... [WindowHeight]"

... so you can see the values being reported in each machine ... then post them here.
User avatar
Gaev
 
Posts: 3718
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:48 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: I'M CONFUSED

Postby StarterPack » Tue Apr 12, 2016 10:25 am

Hi guys,

Ok somehow i figured it out, cause i don't always build a program in full screen mode. But what was interested, is that when i want to build a program for 800x600 resolution, i have to set my resolution in my app to 783 x 519. This way i will know that it will fit nicely on that pc.

I work out that you have to extract 17 and 81 from whatever resolution you want to build for example. 800 - 17 = 783 and 600 - 81 = 519
Here are a few resolutions and what to set your app resolution to

If you want to build for a 800x600, set your app builder to 783x519 etc etc. Just thought i must share this in case someone wants to know.

PC Resolution App Resolution
800 x 600 To 783 x 519
1024 x 768 To 1007 x 687
1152 x 864 To 1135 x 783
1280 x 720 To 1263 x 639
1280 x 768 To 1263 x687
1280 x 800 To 1263 x 719
1280 x 960 To 1263 x 879
1280 x 1024 To 1263 x 943
1360 x 768 To 1343 x 687
1366 x 768 To 1349 x 687
1600 x 900 To 1583 x 819
1600 x 1024 To 1583 x 943
1600 x 1200 To 1583 x 1119
1680 x 1050 To 1663 x 969
1920 x 1080 To 1903 x 999
1920 x 1200 To 1903 x 1119
1920 x 1440 To 1903 x 1359
2048 x 1536 To 2031 x 1455
2560 x 1600 To 2543 x 1519
StarterPack
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2016 6:55 am

Re: I'M CONFUSED

Postby mishem » Tue Apr 12, 2016 1:42 pm

You do not take into consideration the "Taskbar".
"Taskbar", each user may be different sizes.

Plug-in zmFunctions can get the screen size is not hidden the taskbar.
zmGetDesktopRectangle

You must consider that the taskbar can be located on the left, the right, top, from below and hidden.
mishem
 
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 1:51 pm

Re: I'M CONFUSED

Postby mishem » Tue Apr 12, 2016 1:59 pm

It may also affect the size of the window change the font settings.

Image
mishem
 
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 1:51 pm


Return to General NeoBook Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests