Source language: Translate to:

Subroutine editor "Quick Jump"

Post your suggestions for future versions of NeoBook

Moderator: Neosoft Support

Subroutine editor "Quick Jump"

Postby ebear » Fri Mar 21, 2014 5:25 am

Hello Dave, All

Working with the Subroutine editor (scrolling Up - Down trough the scripts) I got "maybe" an Idea for a next update.
In my opinion it would be great to have a scroll box next to the editor with the Subroutine names. When clicking on the name the editor would Jump to the selected subroutine.

Image

This would make working with the editor a little bit more easy.

Best regards,

Eric
http://www.lunarsoftware.eu - Lunar Software ERP database Development. Manufacturing processes, Document management, QMS, Stock management. Standalone solutions or connected to Helios Orange and other ERP systems.
User avatar
ebear
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 3:12 am
Location: Vrchlabi - Czech republic

Re: Subroutine editor "Quick Jump"

Postby Cipolla » Fri Mar 21, 2014 6:20 am

Yup! my vote for this. When dealing with 100+ subroutines this would be very handy :)
Greetings from Germany
Klaus
User avatar
Cipolla
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 1:45 am
Location: Germany

Re: Subroutine editor "Quick Jump"

Postby ebear » Fri Mar 21, 2014 7:00 am

Cipolla wrote:Yup! my vote for this. When dealing with 100+ subroutines this would be very handy :)


Yes I would make switching between several sub's a lot quicker and easier. (in my image is the scroll bar missing ;-)
http://www.lunarsoftware.eu - Lunar Software ERP database Development. Manufacturing processes, Document management, QMS, Stock management. Standalone solutions or connected to Helios Orange and other ERP systems.
User avatar
ebear
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 3:12 am
Location: Vrchlabi - Czech republic

Re: Subroutine editor "Quick Jump"

Postby Wrangler » Fri Mar 21, 2014 7:53 am

I don't see it in your pic, but my subroutine editor has a button with 2 little gears up in the top menu. This allows you to select a sub. You no got?
Wrangler
--------------
"You never know about a woman. Whether she'll laugh, cry or go for a gun." - Louis L'Amour

Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
16GB Ram
Asus GTX 950 OC Strix
Software made with NeoBook
http://highdesertsoftware.com
User avatar
Wrangler
 
Posts: 1506
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:40 pm
Location: USA

Re: Subroutine editor "Quick Jump"

Postby ebear » Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:18 am

Hello Wrangler,

Your right but in the full screen editor these are gone. I use the full screen editor all the time for a better overview.
btw I think the gears are not so helpful as my proposal, but that me.... ;-)

Regards,

Eric
http://www.lunarsoftware.eu - Lunar Software ERP database Development. Manufacturing processes, Document management, QMS, Stock management. Standalone solutions or connected to Helios Orange and other ERP systems.
User avatar
ebear
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 3:12 am
Location: Vrchlabi - Czech republic

Re: Subroutine editor "Quick Jump"

Postby Wrangler » Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:23 am

Yes. You're right. I didn't try the full screen. I agree that it is difficult to sift through a large number of subroutines. I have several projects that have a large number of really long subs, and I dread having to locate anything in them. Along with your suggestion, I would also suggest a 'bookmark' system, where you could bookmark a line number and return to it later.
Wrangler
--------------
"You never know about a woman. Whether she'll laugh, cry or go for a gun." - Louis L'Amour

Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
16GB Ram
Asus GTX 950 OC Strix
Software made with NeoBook
http://highdesertsoftware.com
User avatar
Wrangler
 
Posts: 1506
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:40 pm
Location: USA

Re: Subroutine editor "Quick Jump"

Postby Neosoft Support » Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:46 am

That's a good idea! I'll add it to the list.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5602
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: Subroutine editor "Quick Jump"

Postby Gaev » Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:48 am

IMHO, the "most efficient/effective way to meet this requirement" might be to have the resulting dropdown/list (when the Gears are clicked) displayed in a multi-column format (say 4 to 6 columns of 25 rows) ... or just a space separated list (so variable number of items in each row).

Multi-column sub-menus and links are quite common on many web pages ... not sure if it is just as easy to implement with Delphi.

Of course, the same response in full screen mode.
User avatar
Gaev
 
Posts: 3728
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:48 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Subroutine editor "Quick Jump"

Postby smokinbanger » Sat Mar 29, 2014 9:17 am

Here's one workaround...

First of all if you have a list box to the side of the editor area in the full screen editor you kind of defeat the purpose of using the full screen editor. However, the book properties dialog including the subroutine (and other) action editor is THE ONLY "non-full screen" editor in neobook that will remember its previous size even between sessions. I set the book properties dialog as large as possible which gives you a very nice size editor. Sure, you lose a little space on the left side for the buttons to switch between Size, Colors, Access, etc. vs. the full screen editor but probably not as much as you would with a list box next to a full screen editor. With this method you still retain the "gear" at the top to jump between subs. Iv'e also previously suggested being able to resize the other object properties dialogs to help with this same editor size issue: http://neosoftware.com/community/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=19537
Just Sayin'...
smokinbanger
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 9:53 am
Location: United States


Return to NeoBook Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron