Source language: Translate to:

RunNeoBook command

Questions about our Advanced Database plug-in

Moderator: Neosoft Support

RunNeoBook command

Postby BRobinsonS » Sun Dec 22, 2013 6:47 pm

Trying to run a compiled second Neobook app from within another Neobook app.
The second app accesses the same Database as the one calling it. Copied app I want to run in same directory as first app.

Seems to execute Ok except when executing report(s) (2) I get the message it can't find the report and lists the full path to report in the original directory.

Checked that I used [PubDir] for the second app for the reports.

Not sure why I get this message.

Are the reports not compiled into the second app?
Brian Robinson
'When all else fails, try again!'
www.ComputerSoftwareSystems.com
User avatar
BRobinsonS
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 9:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: RunNeoBook command

Postby Neosoft Support » Mon Dec 23, 2013 11:28 am

Report files .dbr will be compiled into the pub exe, but only if you use the full path name to the file in your code. If you use [PubDir] instead then the files will not be compiled. For example:

dbpPreviewReport "AddrBook" "C:\Users\NeoSoft\Documents\Sales.dbr" "DisplayMode=FacingPages"

Will compile the Sales.dbr file into the pub exe.

dbpPreviewReport "AddrBook" "[PubDir]Sales.dbr" "DisplayMode=FacingPages"

Will NOT compile into the pub exe. In this case, you will need to copy the Sales.dbr file into the same folder as the pub exe.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5605
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: RunNeoBook command

Postby BRobinsonS » Mon Dec 23, 2013 1:23 pm

So leave the full path when compiling the 2nd program.
Then, I can copy the program to the same directory as the 'calling' program, both of which use the same database and the report should work?

Sorry, I am asking this before I try.
I could build this into the calling program but I thought it was another excuse to learn Neobook more.
Brian Robinson
'When all else fails, try again!'
www.ComputerSoftwareSystems.com
User avatar
BRobinsonS
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 9:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: RunNeoBook command

Postby BRobinsonS » Mon Dec 23, 2013 2:59 pm

Removed the [PubDir] and left the report name without a path and it works.
I was a little surprise with the size of the 2nd program until I realized I was using 2 scanned images of the forms at 300 dpi x 300 dpi.
Scanned because I don't have the original as a image.

I reduced to 150 x 150 dpi. Forms are not clear but will have to do.
Brian Robinson
'When all else fails, try again!'
www.ComputerSoftwareSystems.com
User avatar
BRobinsonS
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 9:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: RunNeoBook command

Postby dpayer » Tue Dec 24, 2013 7:12 am

BRobinsonS wrote:Removed the [PubDir] and left the report name without a path and it works.
I was a little surprise with the size of the 2nd program until I realized I was using 2 scanned images of the forms at 300 dpi x 300 dpi.
Scanned because I don't have the original as a image.

I reduced to 150 x 150 dpi. Forms are not clear but will have to do.



Remember, you can change the resolution of bitmap images using MSPaint.exe which is part of every version of Windows out now. Your screen only displays at 92 DPI.

David P.
David Payer
Des Moines, Iowa
USA
User avatar
dpayer
 
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 5:55 am
Location: Iowa - USA

Re: RunNeoBook command

Postby BRobinsonS » Wed Dec 25, 2013 12:18 pm

But I would like a clear printed version.
92 dpi might not do it.
Brian Robinson
'When all else fails, try again!'
www.ComputerSoftwareSystems.com
User avatar
BRobinsonS
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 9:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: RunNeoBook command

Postby dpayer » Thu Dec 26, 2013 7:44 am

BRobinsonS wrote:But I would like a clear printed version.
92 dpi might not do it.


Understood. If these are to be printed in Black/White, be sure to use grayscale or 1 bit for the depth of the image when scanning. This helps a lot.

David P.
David Payer
Des Moines, Iowa
USA
User avatar
dpayer
 
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 5:55 am
Location: Iowa - USA

Re: RunNeoBook command

Postby BRobinsonS » Thu Dec 26, 2013 11:48 am

I used Grayscale to scan and then convert to B&W got rid of the background color/colour(Canadian eh!) link pink,yellow .
Took some experimenting.
So I ended up with a decent image.

Thanksfor your suggestions.
Brian Robinson
'When all else fails, try again!'
www.ComputerSoftwareSystems.com
User avatar
BRobinsonS
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 9:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada


Return to NeoBookDBPro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests