Source language: Translate to:

Moving DB app from XP to Win7

Questions about our Advanced Database plug-in

Moderator: Neosoft Support

Moving DB app from XP to Win7

Postby BRobinsonS » Mon Dec 09, 2013 5:52 pm

I am moving my DBpro app to my laptop (Windows 7) from my XP computer.
The basis of this program is the sample Addressbook app which I have enhanced alot from the original.

Now when compiling on Window 7 I get an Access Violation address ... Module NeoBookDBpro.nbp address ....

For those experienced with Neobook, DBPro and Windows 7 what is the cause and what does this error mean ?
Brian Robinson
'When all else fails, try again!'
www.ComputerSoftwareSystems.com
User avatar
BRobinsonS
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 9:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Moving DB app from XP to Win7

Postby HPW » Tue Dec 10, 2013 12:51 am

Where do you install neobook and its plugins?
In WIN7 it is very important to think about user-rights.
Have all directory's read/write access under the current user?

Regards
Hans-Peter
User avatar
HPW
 
Posts: 2520
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 11:24 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Moving DB app from XP to Win7

Postby BRobinsonS » Tue Dec 10, 2013 9:35 am

I believe that is the problem because NeobookDBPro was installed under programs and probably should not have been installed there.
The program seems to work except for this error notice.

Also, I am wondering if the development folder structure which is slightly different from my XP computer has something to do with it.

I'll try to install NeobookDBPro in another folder/directory.
Brian Robinson
'When all else fails, try again!'
www.ComputerSoftwareSystems.com
User avatar
BRobinsonS
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 9:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Moving DB app from XP to Win7

Postby Neosoft Support » Tue Dec 10, 2013 11:15 am

We haven't had any other reports of problems running DBPro under Windows 7, and installing in the Program Files folder shouldn't cause any problems under normal circumstances.

Can you clarify when the access violation error occurs? Is it during compile or when running the compiled exe?

Does it also occur when running in test mode from within NeoBook?

Where is your exe being compiled?
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5605
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: Moving DB app from XP to Win7

Postby BRobinsonS » Tue Dec 10, 2013 12:14 pm

Support,
You are right. The same error occurred with I installed DBPro from another directory not under programs.

The error occurs during test mode from within NeoBook.

I have never used Debugger log before so I thought I would give it a try.
Is seems to be in the DatabaseOpen (using the AddressBook app which I have built on) subroutine.
If I understand it right,according to the log file, the Gosub "DBPro_OnError" shows up between the dbpSetColumnOrder
and
dbpSetColumnTitles commands.

I haven't changed any thing here. I just copied the project to my laptop and started to work with it.

While I am asking, can you tell me what the + and - and looks like folder icons mean in debugger window and +/- in log file?
I think I know just want to clarify.
Brian Robinson
'When all else fails, try again!'
www.ComputerSoftwareSystems.com
User avatar
BRobinsonS
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 9:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Moving DB app from XP to Win7

Postby Neosoft Support » Tue Dec 10, 2013 12:59 pm

What happens if you run the sample pubs included with DBPro instead of your pub?

The + and - symbols in the debugger indicate which actions have executed (+) and which have not (-).
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5605
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: Moving DB app from XP to Win7

Postby BRobinsonS » Wed Dec 11, 2013 12:28 pm

Tried test run on sample apps before re-installing DBPro from Programs and after and had no problem.
So I guess it was the name change that caused my problem.

Does the dbpColumnOrder need to be in start up i.e. opendatabase rountine or just page properties where grid exists?

And thanks for being there.
Brian Robinson
'When all else fails, try again!'
www.ComputerSoftwareSystems.com
User avatar
BRobinsonS
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 9:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Moving DB app from XP to Win7

Postby Neosoft Support » Thu Dec 12, 2013 10:52 am

Is seems to be in the DatabaseOpen (using the AddressBook app which I have built on) subroutine.
If I understand it right,according to the log file, the Gosub "DBPro_OnError" shows up between the dbpSetColumnOrder
and dbpSetColumnTitles commands.


Since the sample database pubs work and the access violation in your pub occurs when the database is opened, the problem may be that your database .mdb file is corrupted. Try replacing it with a fresh copy from your old computer. If that doesn't work try renaming the .mdb file and creating a new one from scratch.

If the DBPro_OnError subroutine is being triggered, what message does it display? (The access violation typically comes from Windows and would be independent of any errors from DBPro.)

Does the dbpColumnOrder need to be in start up i.e. opendatabase rountine or just page properties where grid exists?


It shouldn't matter where these actions are located as long as the database and table are open. If the database isn't opening, then these actions will trigger an error because they cannot be used on a table that has not been opened.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5605
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA


Return to NeoBookDBPro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests