Source language: Translate to:

View selected fields in Grid

Questions about our Advanced Database plug-in

Moderator: Neosoft Support

View selected fields in Grid

Postby Trainman » Fri May 10, 2013 12:05 pm

Hi everybody,

I have make a simple Access database and wish to only show 3 of 6 fields in the Grid view.
The Customwindow that shows the database shows the six fields within the rectangle and I only need the fields Aspect, Indication and application, shown.
The other three are shown but are not needed within the Grid, as one is the name of an Image and all three are used as variables.

Can you please tell me what I have forgot to add / do to view only the three needed.

Yours

Trainman
Trainman
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:21 am
Location: England

Re: View selected fields in Grid

Postby dpayer » Fri May 10, 2013 2:59 pm

Trainman wrote:Hi everybody,

I have make a simple Access database and wish to only show 3 of 6 fields in the Grid view.
The Customwindow that shows the database shows the six fields within the rectangle and I only need the fields Aspect, Indication and application, shown.
The other three are shown but are not needed within the Grid, as one is the name of an Image and all three are used as variables.

Can you please tell me what I have forgot to add / do to view only the three needed.

Yours

Trainman



SQL is a helpful 'language' to use for databases. Your request is simple.
Open the table in DBP and then execute a SQL statement:

SELECT Col1,Col2,Col3 FROM MYTABLE
WHERE CONDITION1=Mycondition

then show your table.

David P.
David Payer
Des Moines, Iowa
USA
User avatar
dpayer
 
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 5:55 am
Location: Iowa - USA

Re: View selected fields in Grid

Postby Trainman » Sat May 11, 2013 6:52 am

David

I have never used SQL and have a couple of Question.

1. Do you have to install any drivers to the PC to use SQL?

2. Can you run the program from a CD without installing anything?

Yours

Trainman
Trainman
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:21 am
Location: England

Re: View selected fields in Grid

Postby Gaev » Sat May 11, 2013 8:51 am

Trainman:
1. Do you have to install any drivers to the PC to use SQL?
No ... SQL is the language that databases like Access understand ... when you use NeoBookDBPro, you speak in "English Like" commands ... and the plugin does the translation.

2. Can you run the program from a CD without installing anything?
Nothing to install.


However, you can also achieve your objective with the use of the dbpSetFieldProperties command ...

Code: Select all
dbpSetFieldProperties "database id" "table" "field" "properties"


... where the Visible property is what you need to specify ... from the Help file ...
Visible=yes/no
Yes = the field is displayed in the grid. No = the field does not appear in the grid.
User avatar
Gaev
 
Posts: 3733
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:48 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: View selected fields in Grid

Postby Trainman » Sun May 12, 2013 9:34 am

Geav:

Thank you for sharing your knowledge.
It works well and I can start the bigger job of creating the psd images and the complete database for the project.

Once again thank you.

Trainman
Trainman
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:21 am
Location: England


Return to NeoBookDBPro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron