Source language: Translate to:

Help me in order to test a Wake On Lan routine!

Questions and information about creating Internet aware NeoBook applications. Including PHP, HTML, FTP, HTTP, Email, etc.

Moderator: Neosoft Support

Re: Help me in order to test a Wake On Lan routine!

Postby naxoscg » Tue Jan 29, 2013 4:43 pm

I've tried several times to get a wake on lan working with no succes...
Ok i'm quite a early-time geek, but i'm more a user (3D Cg) than a coder... so i'll try again...
naxoscg
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:35 am

Re: Help me in order to test a Wake On Lan routine!

Postby dec » Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:36 pm

naxoscg wrote:I've tried several times to get a wake on lan working with no succes...
Ok i'm quite a early-time geek, but i'm more a user (3D Cg) than a coder... so i'll try again...


Thank you! I think the five try must to work... since use certain well knowed and widely used library:

ttp://neoplugins.com/?download/wol5.zip

If anyone can try this one and the other sample executables... ;)
.
Enhance your NeoBook applications!
.
58 plugins, 1131 actions and 233 samples
.
NeoPlugins website: www.neoplugins.com
.
User avatar
dec
 
Posts: 1663
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 12:48 am
Location: Spain

Re: Help me in order to test a Wake On Lan routine!

Postby CN_Iceman » Wed Jan 30, 2013 5:01 am

I Will try this afternoon David.
Greetings.
Greetings/Saludos, Jose.
www.icemansoft.es
User avatar
CN_Iceman
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:04 am
Location: España

Re: Help me in order to test a Wake On Lan routine!

Postby dec » Wed Jan 30, 2013 6:24 am

CN_Iceman wrote:I Will try this afternoon David.
Greetings.


Many thanks! ;)
.
Enhance your NeoBook applications!
.
58 plugins, 1131 actions and 233 samples
.
NeoPlugins website: www.neoplugins.com
.
User avatar
dec
 
Posts: 1663
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 12:48 am
Location: Spain

Re: Help me in order to test a Wake On Lan routine!

Postby CN_Iceman » Wed Jan 30, 2013 9:33 am

Nothing happens...
I'm going to try with a Laptop PC. More info in a few minutes.

Greetings.
Greetings/Saludos, Jose.
www.icemansoft.es
User avatar
CN_Iceman
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:04 am
Location: España

Re: Help me in order to test a Wake On Lan routine!

Postby CN_Iceman » Wed Jan 30, 2013 9:45 am

Ok, trying again WOL1 to WOL5, with and without admin rights, on 2 Desktop PCs and 1 Laptop Computer...
All results NEGATIVE.

I must to say that I'm trying through a Cable Router, not a direct wire between computers. The WOL program is executed on a Windows 7 64 bits system.
Do you know if I must open any ports?

Glad to help David.
Greetings/Saludos, Jose.
www.icemansoft.es
User avatar
CN_Iceman
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:04 am
Location: España

Re: Help me in order to test a Wake On Lan routine!

Postby dec » Wed Jan 30, 2013 10:38 am

Hello,

Well. Can you try with other software like this? I think we need a little more help. Ever when you do all you can (and I only say thank you for this) maybe the problem it's with the router, for example. In fact the two first examples use certain algorithm that in principle need to work... the second and third samples use another implementation but do (of course) more or less the same thing... and the five implementation use a widely and well tested Delphi library, so I'am very surprising that at the least this five solution don't work...

Maybe another mate can help us in order to try in other systems. You can try it with a software like the refered above maybe in order to test if your system have some "requeriments" or what happend... in one word: can you execute a Wake On Lan order using some other software? This may can be a good question to answer. ;)

Anyway thank you very very much for your efforts!
.
Enhance your NeoBook applications!
.
58 plugins, 1131 actions and 233 samples
.
NeoPlugins website: www.neoplugins.com
.
User avatar
dec
 
Posts: 1663
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 12:48 am
Location: Spain

Re: Help me in order to test a Wake On Lan routine!

Postby CN_Iceman » Wed Jan 30, 2013 11:22 am

After reading some information about "Wake on Lan" processes and, once I executed "WOL Magic Packet Sender", these are my results:

- If the second PC is ON, the Magic Packets are received without problems.
- If the second computer is OFF, the Magic Packets are not received.
- If the second computer is in sleep mode, turns on without problems receiving the Magic Packets.

Upon discovering this, I tried WOL5 and now it works, but as I say, only if the second PC is in sleep mode.

I hope this info can help.

Greetings.
Greetings/Saludos, Jose.
www.icemansoft.es
User avatar
CN_Iceman
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:04 am
Location: España

Re: Help me in order to test a Wake On Lan routine!

Postby dpayer » Wed Jan 30, 2013 12:15 pm

CN_Iceman wrote:After reading some information about "Wake on Lan" processes and, once I executed "WOL Magic Packet Sender", these are my results:

- If the second PC is ON, the Magic Packets are received without problems.
- If the second computer is OFF, the Magic Packets are not received.
- If the second computer is in sleep mode, turns on without problems receiving the Magic Packets.

Upon discovering this, I tried WOL5 and now it works, but as I say, only if the second PC is in sleep mode.

I hope this info can help.

Greetings.


I don't think Wake-on-LAN is meant to turn on a computer that is turned off. If a computer is in sleep mode (hard disk not spinning, power usage very low) then the WOL should bring it back to normal state. Sounds like it finally worked right.

David P.
(just lurking on this thread :)
David Payer
Des Moines, Iowa
USA
User avatar
dpayer
 
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 5:55 am
Location: Iowa - USA

Re: Help me in order to test a Wake On Lan routine!

Postby dec » Wed Jan 30, 2013 12:19 pm

Hello there,

First of all, thank you for your help!

CN_Iceman wrote:After reading some information about "Wake on Lan" processes and, once I executed "WOL Magic Packet Sender", these are my results:

- If the second PC is ON, the Magic Packets are received without problems.


Just for curiosity, what happend? In other words, how you know the WOL are received if the PC is yet ON?

CN_Iceman wrote:- If the second computer is OFF, the Magic Packets are not received.


I'am doubts that the WOL can work if the PC is completely power off. Or maybe some cards allow computers to wake up and other ones only allow this on PC sleep mode... can be a possible, since the executables "execute the WOL without errors"... maybe the WOL messages is sent... ?

CN_Iceman wrote:- If the second computer is in sleep mode, turns on without problems receiving the Magic Packets.


Hum... And...

CN_Iceman wrote:Upon discovering this, I tried WOL5 and now it works, but as I say, only if the second PC is in sleep mode.


So, abusing of your confidence, can you try with the sleeped PC with WOL1, WOL2, etc.? Since maybe also work...

CN_Iceman wrote:I hope this info can help.


Of course can help. Not only can help, but, without some tests like this I cannot add the appropiate action to the plugin, so thank you very very much again. :)

dpayer wrote:I don't think Wake-on-LAN is meant to turn on a computer that is turned off. If a computer is in sleep mode (hard disk not spinning, power usage very low) then the WOL should bring it back to normal state. Sounds like it finally worked right.


This is my opinion too: maybe some cards can turn the computer on ever when it's completely disconnected? Or the WOL message only can work on a "suspended/sleeping/listening..." PC...

Thanks David for your comment too. Any other help are appreciated. ;)
.
Enhance your NeoBook applications!
.
58 plugins, 1131 actions and 233 samples
.
NeoPlugins website: www.neoplugins.com
.
User avatar
dec
 
Posts: 1663
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 12:48 am
Location: Spain

Re: Help me in order to test a Wake On Lan routine!

Postby CN_Iceman » Wed Jan 30, 2013 12:59 pm

dec wrote:Just for curiosity, what happend? In other words, how you know the WOL are received if the PC is yet ON?

The program has a "Listen" mode. By sending the signal from the first PC, the second PC opens a message when it receives the Magic Packets.

dec wrote:So, abusing of your confidence, can you try with the sleeped PC with WOL1, WOL2, etc.? Since maybe also work...

Roger that... wait.

Greetings.
Greetings/Saludos, Jose.
www.icemansoft.es
User avatar
CN_Iceman
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:04 am
Location: España

Re: Help me in order to test a Wake On Lan routine!

Postby CN_Iceman » Wed Jan 30, 2013 1:05 pm

Second PC in Sleeping Mode...
WOL1: OK
WOL2: OK
WOL3: OK
WOL4: FAIL
WOL5: OK

Greetings.

PS. (Ah! the problem with the 2 monitors is solved on WOL5.)
Greetings/Saludos, Jose.
www.icemansoft.es
User avatar
CN_Iceman
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:04 am
Location: España

Re: Help me in order to test a Wake On Lan routine!

Postby dec » Wed Jan 30, 2013 1:20 pm

Hello,

CN_Iceman wrote:Second PC in Sleeping Mode...
WOL1: OK
WOL2: OK
WOL3: OK
WOL4: FAIL
WOL5: OK

Greetings.

PS. (Ah! the problem with the 2 monitors is solved on WOL5.)


Thank you very much again Jose. ;) I don't know at this time if add this action to npUtil can be a good idea... I think so, but, what can you thing, for example? About the "monitor problem", I fix it right now and put into the next plugins update. ;) Thank you very much again Jose. :)

Thanks and good night to all!
.
Enhance your NeoBook applications!
.
58 plugins, 1131 actions and 233 samples
.
NeoPlugins website: www.neoplugins.com
.
User avatar
dec
 
Posts: 1663
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 12:48 am
Location: Spain

Re: Help me in order to test a Wake On Lan routine!

Postby CN_Iceman » Thu Jan 31, 2013 1:39 pm

You're welcome David. I'm glad to help you.

Talking about the possible uses of this feature... For example my case. I have a Media Center PC with my TV and 3 PC's in another room. One of this PC's is a Film Server. It is easy swich on the Film Server from my living room to see a movie on my Media Center :P

Some times I need switch on my wife PC for maintenance, if I don't need to stand up from my chair, go to her PC and come back... :lol:

Anyway, it is a new feature for your plugin, that's good, right?

Thank's for the monitor problem fix.

Greetings.
Greetings/Saludos, Jose.
www.icemansoft.es
User avatar
CN_Iceman
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:04 am
Location: España

Re: Help me in order to test a Wake On Lan routine!

Postby dec » Thu Jan 31, 2013 1:45 pm

Hello,

Thank you very much. Well. I think that add this action can be good, and, apparently, at the least, work without errors... So my next npUtil update incorporate the action and the fix for the updater form problem. Anyway we ever can fix some possible issues or enhance when possible. Thank you very much again Jose. ;)
.
Enhance your NeoBook applications!
.
58 plugins, 1131 actions and 233 samples
.
NeoPlugins website: www.neoplugins.com
.
User avatar
dec
 
Posts: 1663
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 12:48 am
Location: Spain

PreviousNext

Return to NeoBook and the Internet

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests