Source language: Translate to:

Forum Response Time Really Slow

Questions or information that don't quite fit anywhere else

Moderator: Neosoft Support

Postby phunk » Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:16 am

HPW wrote:Forum and neosoft-mainsite was sometimes not available the last 2 days.
Also speed is not really good.
Any new problems?


same for me.. but i'd say for the last two weeks it was on/off/cheesy.
Last edited by phunk on Tue Sep 04, 2007 12:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
oliver
User avatar
phunk
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 11:33 pm

Postby Gaev » Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:47 am

Two weeks ago, it started with slow response around 8:00 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. in the Eastern Time Zone ... 5:00 a.m. to 6:00 a.m in the Pacific time zone ? ... perhaps time for maintenance by web host ?

Last week, the slow response times spread to other times of the day/night ... getting progressively worse ... to the point that I ran NeoSoft forum in a seaparate window ... returning to it periodically between surfing other websites in another window(s).

Today, there are other websites that are experiencing slow responses as well ... some but not all !
User avatar
Gaev
 
Posts: 3735
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:48 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Postby Neosoft Support » Sun Sep 02, 2007 11:18 am

We moved to a new server at the beginning of August, mostly because of complaints about this forum being slow. At first the new server was really fast which was great, but the last three or four days it's been very slow. The server's resources are not being tasked at all, so whatever is causing the problem appears to be between the server and the outside world. I thought it might be the many hackers, pirates, etc. constantly bombarding the forum with log-in attempts and software downloads, but the server doesn't show any signs of being overworked. The hosting company's tech support hasn't been able to reproduce the problem, because it's intermittent.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5603
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby HPW » Mon Sep 03, 2007 10:41 pm

This morning (here) it is really fine again (full speed)!
So I wonder when no one change anything why this happen.
:wink:
Hans-Peter
User avatar
HPW
 
Posts: 2520
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 11:24 pm
Location: Germany

Postby Neosoft Support » Tue Sep 04, 2007 10:52 am

Technical support at the server site worked on the problem yesterday and this morning and it appears that they've done something, because the site is running pretty well right now.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5603
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby dpayer » Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:02 pm

Neosoft Support wrote:Technical support at the server site worked on the problem yesterday and this morning and it appears that they've done something, because the site is running pretty well right now.


You can gather evidence for the tech guys when there is a problem by using the tracert command in windows.

At a prompt:

tracert www.neosoftware.com >myfile.txt [enter]

The myfile.txt text file will show all the hops between where you are and where the server is. If there is congestion in the network (like their upstream) then you can show it clearly.

David P.
User avatar
dpayer
 
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 5:55 am
Location: Iowa - USA

Postby Neosoft Support » Mon Sep 10, 2007 11:14 am

It looks like the recent problem is being caused by a googlebot which is visiting the forum and consuming an excessive amount of bandwidth and active connections. Hopefully, we have now resolved this problem.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5603
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby dpayer » Mon Sep 10, 2007 11:18 am

Neosoft Support wrote:It looks like the recent problem is being caused by a googlebot which is visiting the forum and consuming an excessive amount of bandwidth and active connections. Hopefully, we have now resolved this problem.


You can instruct the search engines to not index your site. Here are some results on a search for using a robots.txt file. The first one is pretty informative.

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=using+robots.txt

David P.
User avatar
dpayer
 
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 5:55 am
Location: Iowa - USA

Postby Neosoft Support » Mon Sep 10, 2007 11:29 am

Yes, that's what we did. A robots.txt file was added to limit which parts of the forum Google indexes. We also reduced the speed at which the googlebot searches the forum.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5603
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Previous

Return to Misc. Questions and Information

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest