Source language: Translate to:

ANSI/ASCII plugin dB versus dbPro

Questions about our Advanced Database plug-in

Moderator: Neosoft Support

ANSI/ASCII plugin dB versus dbPro

Postby christian » Wed Jul 18, 2007 6:04 am

Hello,
loading a database like DBF (using the sample NBdBPro-databaseviewer) containing ANSI-characters, especially German "ä,ö,ü,..." those characters are shown in NBdB correctly but there is a wrong result in NBdbPro.

Is there any command to change ANSI/ASCII. I didn't found anything in the help file.
Christian
User avatar
christian
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 9:25 am
Location: Germany

Postby Neosoft Support » Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:38 am

That's an interesting question. The character display probably has something to do with the dBase ODBC driver.

I recommend that you avoid using dBase with the DBPro if you can. dBase is a very old technology and doesn't really take advantage of what DBPro can do. I would suggest that you use NeoBookDB to export your dBase file to CSV format, then create a new MS Access database/table in DBPro and import the data. The MS Access version of the database should correctly display the German characters.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5593
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby christian » Wed Jul 18, 2007 3:32 pm

You are right, that's only for my "special" (older) software solutions, so I will use the old plugin.

For my "newer" solutions there ist no chance any longer to sell database programs prepared for Access, because all of my clients don't like it. This is a trend since 2 years, I think Access "is out" for those professional solutions. I have to do all my work with MS-SQL or PostgresSQL, which will work under Citrix too. There is a lot of trouble with the MDBs...

By the way: The progamming language Profan uses for its dBase-engine the following functions for converting:
@AnsiToOem$(S) - @OemToAnsi$(S).

Thanks,
Christian
User avatar
christian
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 9:25 am
Location: Germany

Postby Neosoft Support » Wed Jul 18, 2007 5:19 pm

I have to do all my work with MS-SQL or PostgresSQL, which will work under Citrix too. There is a lot of trouble with the MDBs...


I haven't heard about any problems with Access, but DBPro supports MS-SQL and PostgresSQL too. The nice thing about Access is that it doesn't require anything to be installed on the PC, because the necessary files are included with Windows.

By the way: The progamming language Profan uses for its dBase-engine the following functions for converting: @AnsiToOem$(S) - @OemToAnsi$(S).


Unfortunately, we don't have access to that kind of low level function with ADO/ODBC. I think the dBase driver just uses the language information stored in the dbf file if any.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5593
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA


Return to NeoBookDBPro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests