Source language: Translate to:

dbpGetParameter

Questions about our Advanced Database plug-in

Moderator: Neosoft Support

dbpGetParameter

Postby antonio45 » Thu Jul 12, 2007 5:52 am

Hi,

I think it is usefull to add dbpGetParameter action


Mehmet BAKITKAL
antonio45
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 11:37 am

dbpGetParameter

Postby antonio45 » Thu Jul 12, 2007 6:12 am

DbpGetParameter must return the parameter names. So I can pass parameter with DbpSetParameter to these names

Thank you
antonio45
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 11:37 am

Postby Neosoft Support » Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:35 am

I've found that many databases don't provide a list of parameters for stored procedures. I think Oracle does, but most others do not. Also, using a stored procedure generally requires that you know something about what it's going to do, including what parameters it requires. I'm not sure knowing the names of the parameters will help much if you don't know what type of data they require.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5593
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

dbpGetParameter

Postby antonio45 » Thu Jul 12, 2007 11:17 am

Hi,
I want to make a simple tool like a Queary Analyzer (Microsoft Sql Server), so if you open any stored procedure , a windows is being opened and it is being showed parameters, so you can enter value for that parameters. If it is impossible I must look different ways.

Thank you for your reply.

Mehmet BAKITKAL
antonio45
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 11:37 am

Postby Neosoft Support » Fri Jul 13, 2007 10:32 am

So dbpGetParameter would simply return a list of parameter names? For example:

Param1
Param2
Param3
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5593
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby Neosoft Support » Fri Jul 13, 2007 5:27 pm

A dbpGetProcedureParameter action was added to beta 2.3.

http://www.neosoftware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=15314

Mehmet BAKITKAL: Can you please test this with Microsoft Sql Server?
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5593
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

dbpGetParameter

Postby antonio45 » Mon Jul 16, 2007 6:38 am

Hi,

First Thank you for the dbpGetProcedureParameters action. It is working true but it is producing an additional parameter @Return_Value. But the other parameters is enough and true for user.

Thank you again for your help.

Mehmet BAKITKAL
antonio45
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 11:37 am

dbpGetParameter

Postby antonio45 » Mon Jul 16, 2007 8:45 am

Hi,

I set these actions in button action.
dbpSetParameter "[ID]" "[ParamName]" "[ParamValue]"
dbpExecProc "[ID]" "[ProcedureName]" "[TableName]"

At first run, these actions is working succesfully. But If I select another stored procedure from listbox and Run the stored procedure, fpllowing error occured;

Cannot perform this operation on an open dataset

How can I close dataset which I run before ?

Thank You

Mehmet BAKITKAL
antonio45
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 11:37 am

Re: dbpGetParameter

Postby Neosoft Support » Mon Jul 16, 2007 4:46 pm

Cannot perform this operation on an open dataset


This has been fixed in v1.0.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5593
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA


Return to NeoBookDBPro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron