Source language: Translate to:

Need Testers...

Questions or information that don't quite fit anywhere else

Moderator: Neosoft Support

Need Testers...

Postby David de Argentina » Wed Jan 24, 2007 5:55 pm

Hello all,

Im developing a new version of NeoChat console.

it can be downloaded at:

http://www.specialapps.software-zone.com/files/chat.zip

Program requires NBPlay 5.5.3

I tested it on my XP SP2 machine only.

If you want test it on your machine only, you must set Local and Remote ports with the same value, ie: 18000.

If you want to test it with me, my MSN Messenger is: david_leon@hotmail.com

Please, tell me your comments...

Thanks in advance,

David de Argentina
User avatar
David de Argentina
 
Posts: 1560
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 4:13 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Postby David de Argentina » Thu Jan 25, 2007 2:00 pm

Program Updated.

Now, it can send animated emoticons...

please, downloadad again the program.

http://www.specialapps.software-zone.com/files/chat.zip

Thanks again !

David de Argentina
User avatar
David de Argentina
 
Posts: 1560
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 4:13 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Postby smartmedia » Fri Jan 26, 2007 12:33 am

Hi...

David,
i like to ask you with what plugin you make neochat because i want to do something like yours...
Looks like is working quite good...

Thanks
User avatar
smartmedia
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:50 am
Location: Hellas

Postby David de Argentina » Fri Jan 26, 2007 10:21 am

Hi Smartmedia,

This sample is still under development.
I wanna add some features, like:

a) a Commandline, in order to be accessed for a "Main" program that handles online users (a remote database program)
b) a press key handler, in order to add a "Remote user is typing a message...." legend.

Program uses NeoChat plugin and NeoColorPicker plugin.

NeoChat plugin can be downloaded at:

http://www.neosoftware.com/neobook/modu ... .php?cid=3

the NeoColorPicker is another dialog color picker service.

Source code is available for sale.

If you want, you can contact me at: neobook5@yahoo.com.ar

Best regards,

David de Argentina
User avatar
David de Argentina
 
Posts: 1560
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 4:13 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Postby cp4w » Fri Jan 26, 2007 11:16 am

Hi,
Program requires NBPlay 5.5.3
I put it in the chat directory of the second computer and still does not work.

Also please help me understand

Remote user Ip - contains the ip address of the remote computer

What sould Local Port, and Remote Port be defined on each machine?
cp4w
 
Posts: 533
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 4:37 pm
Location: Great Neck, NY

Postby David de Argentina » Fri Jan 26, 2007 11:34 am

Hi shx,

I think nbplay must be at each computer, at the same folder of the chat.exe. if you can't run the program, i will recompile it and send you.


First step: you must configure ports some like this:

First computer:
Local Port: 18000 <--- receive port
Remote Port: 18001 <--- send port

Second computer:
Local Port: 18001 <--- receive port
Remote Port: 18000 <--- send port

Note: if you configure the same Local port and Remote port on one computer, you will receive an "echo" of each message.


Second step: you must input the correct remote IP address at one of the computers.

Note: Usually, this service is managed by a "main" program that handles the online users, and start the chat console with user name, user ip, and user ports.

After this, you can type your message, and send it....

At the another computer, the receive data updates Remote User name, Remote ip and remote port.

Enjoy it !
David de Argentina
User avatar
David de Argentina
 
Posts: 1560
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 4:13 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Postby cp4w » Fri Jan 26, 2007 11:47 am

I think nbplay must be at each computer, at the same folder of the chat.exe. if you can't run the program, i will recompile it and send you.


It is and it still does not work.
cp4w
 
Posts: 533
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 4:37 pm
Location: Great Neck, NY

Postby David de Argentina » Fri Jan 26, 2007 12:03 pm

Replace your chat.exe file with this one:

http://www.specialapps.software-zone.co ... at-exe.zip

cheers,

David de Argentina
User avatar
David de Argentina
 
Posts: 1560
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 4:13 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Postby dpayer » Fri Jan 26, 2007 2:44 pm

David de Argentina wrote:Replace your chat.exe file with this one:

http://www.specialapps.software-zone.co ... at-exe.zip

cheers,

David de Argentina


I would think if you need to identify the IP/Port you are using, then anyone who is behind a router will need to do PORT FORWARDING of that port to the right IP. Otherwise the router will not push the input to the right computer.

David P.
User avatar
dpayer
 
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 5:55 am
Location: Iowa - USA

Postby David de Argentina » Fri Jan 26, 2007 3:38 pm

Hi davidp,

Yes !

Im trying to learn about this... just now

but i dont know how to yet.

If you have an idea, please... tell me...

thanks in advance

David de Argentina
User avatar
David de Argentina
 
Posts: 1560
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 4:13 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Postby dpayer » Fri Jan 26, 2007 7:17 pm

David de Argentina wrote:Hi davidp,

Yes !

Im trying to learn about this... just now

but i dont know how to yet.

If you have an idea, please... tell me...

thanks in advance

David de Argentina


David, some of the existing Instant Messenger programs somehow use a server to establish some form of a connection between two separate IPs and then they can continue on their own after that session.

But if you are attempting to have two programs communicate with one another on static port assignments then you have to open up the port in the router being used. This is a very common issue but it is done differently on each type of router.

Now if the program were to use a server component that both clients would talk to, that would be different as each one could initiate contact and get a response from that server on the same port. The router would allow that type of connection without any change of settings.

Maybe there would be a way to have each client program initiate a connection simultaneously to a server (via a php page possibly) and when the other person also went to that page both clients could be informed of the other other one's readiness and you could sent/receive on the same port to the other IP. This is theoretical, of course. You will need to experiment.

D
User avatar
dpayer
 
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 5:55 am
Location: Iowa - USA

Postby David de Argentina » Mon Jan 29, 2007 9:49 am

Hi David P,

After learn about ports, forwarding and routers, i know each user MUST open phisically ports on router in order to program works.

As program is a chat console, it can be used as standalone program or as child of a server-online user "main" program.

There are many ways to do it, ( PHP, NeoMySQL plugin, textfile, etc). Each possible user can do this program as your own style.

I tested chat console on a few machines that says real ip and works fine...

Cheers,
David de Argentina
User avatar
David de Argentina
 
Posts: 1560
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 4:13 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina


Return to Misc. Questions and Information

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron