Page 1 of 1

PowerBasic and MySQL/MS Access

PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 8:11 am
by asawyer13
I am using NB to access/update, etc my Access database but am using another tool (RealBasic) to load the database from mysql. However RealBasic works a little strange with Access, so my question is, does anyone know if PowerBasic will access MySQL and Access without additional drivers/odbc etc?

Thanks,
Alan

PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:36 pm
by David de Argentina
Hi Alan,

There are a lot of samples to use PowerBasic to handle any kind of ODBC database.

you could get this info at:

http://www.powerbasic.com/support/pbfor ... hid=754230

My devaluated cent,
David de Argentina

PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 1:18 pm
by asawyer13
@David,
If it is being accessed via odbc, then additional drivers need to be installed, for example the MYSQL odbc driver, etc, so it's not a good solution for me.

Thanks
Alan

PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 1:39 pm
by David de Argentina
hi Alan,

Did you try my NeoMySQL plugin... ?

this plugin does not need any ODBC drivers, uses the LibMySQL.Dll library.

you can get the sample plugin at:

http://www.neosoftware.com/neobook/modu ... d=2&lid=52

Another devaluated cent,
David de Argentina

PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 4:20 pm
by asawyer13
David,
In this case I am not using NB to do the database loading, etc.
I am using NB for displaying and updating data from Access.

I will keep your stuff in mind, and it looks like you have a lot of stuff, I am not sure I could afford it, but I will take a look when I get some time.

If you even have any of your plugins on sale, or at a good discount, just let me know. I am always interesting in things that will save me time.

Alan

PostPosted: Sun Dec 12, 2010 6:42 am
by asawyer13
David,
I downloaded and tried running the demo that you have but I get an error that it doesn't understand this command:
Code: Select all
hpwGridCreate "Rectangulo1"


I did install the HPWDllCall plugin.

It's probably something simple as I'm fairly new to NB, but I am interested.

Alan

PostPosted: Sun Dec 12, 2010 6:47 am
by asawyer13
Duh, I hadni't installed the HPWGrid plugin.

All is good.

Alan