Page 1 of 1

Need Testers...

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 5:55 pm
by David de Argentina
Hello all,

Im developing a new version of NeoChat console.

it can be downloaded at:

http://www.specialapps.software-zone.com/files/chat.zip

Program requires NBPlay 5.5.3

I tested it on my XP SP2 machine only.

If you want test it on your machine only, you must set Local and Remote ports with the same value, ie: 18000.

If you want to test it with me, my MSN Messenger is: david_leon@hotmail.com

Please, tell me your comments...

Thanks in advance,

David de Argentina

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 2:00 pm
by David de Argentina
Program Updated.

Now, it can send animated emoticons...

please, downloadad again the program.

http://www.specialapps.software-zone.com/files/chat.zip

Thanks again !

David de Argentina

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 12:33 am
by smartmedia
Hi...

David,
i like to ask you with what plugin you make neochat because i want to do something like yours...
Looks like is working quite good...

Thanks

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 10:21 am
by David de Argentina
Hi Smartmedia,

This sample is still under development.
I wanna add some features, like:

a) a Commandline, in order to be accessed for a "Main" program that handles online users (a remote database program)
b) a press key handler, in order to add a "Remote user is typing a message...." legend.

Program uses NeoChat plugin and NeoColorPicker plugin.

NeoChat plugin can be downloaded at:

http://www.neosoftware.com/neobook/modu ... .php?cid=3

the NeoColorPicker is another dialog color picker service.

Source code is available for sale.

If you want, you can contact me at: neobook5@yahoo.com.ar

Best regards,

David de Argentina

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 11:16 am
by cp4w
Hi,
Program requires NBPlay 5.5.3
I put it in the chat directory of the second computer and still does not work.

Also please help me understand

Remote user Ip - contains the ip address of the remote computer

What sould Local Port, and Remote Port be defined on each machine?

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 11:34 am
by David de Argentina
Hi shx,

I think nbplay must be at each computer, at the same folder of the chat.exe. if you can't run the program, i will recompile it and send you.


First step: you must configure ports some like this:

First computer:
Local Port: 18000 <--- receive port
Remote Port: 18001 <--- send port

Second computer:
Local Port: 18001 <--- receive port
Remote Port: 18000 <--- send port

Note: if you configure the same Local port and Remote port on one computer, you will receive an "echo" of each message.


Second step: you must input the correct remote IP address at one of the computers.

Note: Usually, this service is managed by a "main" program that handles the online users, and start the chat console with user name, user ip, and user ports.

After this, you can type your message, and send it....

At the another computer, the receive data updates Remote User name, Remote ip and remote port.

Enjoy it !
David de Argentina

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 11:47 am
by cp4w
I think nbplay must be at each computer, at the same folder of the chat.exe. if you can't run the program, i will recompile it and send you.


It is and it still does not work.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 12:03 pm
by David de Argentina
Replace your chat.exe file with this one:

http://www.specialapps.software-zone.co ... at-exe.zip

cheers,

David de Argentina

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 2:44 pm
by dpayer
David de Argentina wrote:Replace your chat.exe file with this one:

http://www.specialapps.software-zone.co ... at-exe.zip

cheers,

David de Argentina


I would think if you need to identify the IP/Port you are using, then anyone who is behind a router will need to do PORT FORWARDING of that port to the right IP. Otherwise the router will not push the input to the right computer.

David P.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 3:38 pm
by David de Argentina
Hi davidp,

Yes !

Im trying to learn about this... just now

but i dont know how to yet.

If you have an idea, please... tell me...

thanks in advance

David de Argentina

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 7:17 pm
by dpayer
David de Argentina wrote:Hi davidp,

Yes !

Im trying to learn about this... just now

but i dont know how to yet.

If you have an idea, please... tell me...

thanks in advance

David de Argentina


David, some of the existing Instant Messenger programs somehow use a server to establish some form of a connection between two separate IPs and then they can continue on their own after that session.

But if you are attempting to have two programs communicate with one another on static port assignments then you have to open up the port in the router being used. This is a very common issue but it is done differently on each type of router.

Now if the program were to use a server component that both clients would talk to, that would be different as each one could initiate contact and get a response from that server on the same port. The router would allow that type of connection without any change of settings.

Maybe there would be a way to have each client program initiate a connection simultaneously to a server (via a php page possibly) and when the other person also went to that page both clients could be informed of the other other one's readiness and you could sent/receive on the same port to the other IP. This is theoretical, of course. You will need to experiment.

D

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 9:49 am
by David de Argentina
Hi David P,

After learn about ports, forwarding and routers, i know each user MUST open phisically ports on router in order to program works.

As program is a chat console, it can be used as standalone program or as child of a server-online user "main" program.

There are many ways to do it, ( PHP, NeoMySQL plugin, textfile, etc). Each possible user can do this program as your own style.

I tested chat console on a few machines that says real ip and works fine...

Cheers,
David de Argentina