Page 1 of 1

Ideas for NeoBook Applications ...

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 8:26 am
by Gaev
Some time ago, there was discussion on this forum on the subject of "interfacing with a TV Remote" ... specifically, obtaining information (within a NeoBook variable) about "a key pressed on the remote"

Just came across this story ...

http://apnews.myway.com//article/200507 ... HT000.html

... that talks about the fact that ...
Code: Select all
Hundreds of colleges, high schools and even middle schools are using "clickers" - as even manufacturers call them. A moderator can pose a question and within seconds the respondents' answers are anonymously logged on a laptop at the front of the room.
... and goes on to state that ...
Code: Select all
College bookstores sell the clickers for between $10 and $40 apiece to students, depending on a range of functions. Most schools provide a basic system, including a receiver and software, which runs around $1,500. Bigger systems with higher-end equipment can cost $25,000

An opportunity for a new kind of NeoBook application might be to ...

- either interface with the current hardware (somewhat different from a TV Remote in that it receives signals from many many remotes at the same time)
- or provide an alternative, whereby each student/responder (equipped with his/her own laptop pc) would ... get presented with "a question and choice of answers" (in real time) and have his/her response tabulated (also in real time) ... the NeoBook application running in each pc would get/send info to a web server (php like script).

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 11:06 am
by Guest
The ATI All In Wonder video card comes with the ability to use a remote control for TV. Mine came with the remote. I am sure there is a way to control it with NeoBook.

Neal

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2005 12:14 am
by David de Argentina
Hi Gaev,

Im trying to create a videochat service.

im working on 2 ideas simultaneously.

first, im trying to learn "how to" action script Macromedia Flash works...

(if anybody has an idea... tell me....)

Second, my Pinnacle PCTV has a MCI Driver...

Every time i tried to use:

MCICommand "open new Type PCTV Alias PCTVcapture"

where PCTV=MCI4CAP.drv (the driver itself) ....

i received an error message.

I asked about them Pinnacle Support... and never got an answer....

if you (or any...) have any idea... or other stuff to work...

tell me...

Thanks...!!

David de Argentina