Page 1 of 1

Neobook and Access Database

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 12:48 pm
by nmanger
Hi All

I am fairly new to Neobook and was wondering whether you can connect to a Microsoft Access database.

Regards

Neville

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 1:10 pm
by AlfB
hi Neville and welcome to the forum,
you can use NeoAccess from David de Argentina, which is free

http://specialapps.software-zone.com/

Also Alberto is developping one, but we don't know when it will have finished...

http://plugins.techmedia-software.com.br/

So good luck

ALF

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 1:17 pm
by nmanger
Thanks ALF

Will look into. I think I would prefer to use Access rather than DBase. Can you explain how to register the plugin? I have successfully done it with the DBase plugin but there dosen't seem to be any instructions with NeoAccess?

Regards

Neville

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 1:28 pm
by AlfB
hi again, Neville,

as far as I tried it out, there was no registration procedure, as it is freeware. As far as I remember, there is an example comng with it, about the documentation I'm not sure for the moment. But most of the time I can get along with the example-pub.

Hope this helps

ALF

PS: to use the viewer example, you also need to install HPWs grid plugin from http://www.hpwsoft.de/anmeldung/html1/n ... ook18.html
Tested it, worked well for me with NORTHWIND example delivered with MSaccess, if jet engine installed

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 1:50 pm
by nmanger
Thanks for the quick response. I have downloaded the file which appears to be a CAB file. However I can't seem to extract the files. I can see that there are 4 files in total, 3 publicatiosn and 1 plugin. Any idea what I may be doing wrong? I am using Windows XP Professional. When I try to extract the files I get the error message 'Not enough storage is available to complete this operation'.

Regards

Neville

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 1:55 pm
by AlfB
hi Neville,

I usually do it with Winrar from http://www.rarlab.com/download.htm , which usually does all different types of archives

ALF

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 2:08 pm
by nmanger
Thanks ALF.

Problem solved. I was trying to extract using XP. As soon as I installed winzip the extraction worked without a problem. Looking forward to trying it out. Thanks for all the help. Will let you know how I get on.

Regards

Neville