Source language: Translate to:

Sub routines always present

Post your suggestions for future versions of NeoBook

Moderator: Neosoft Support

Sub routines always present

Postby stu » Fri Jul 31, 2015 9:50 am

I don't know if anyone think this is useful or maybe there's a better way of doing this but I think It would be absolutely awesome to have the possibility of writing subroutines at any given moment, for example soon as adding a button I can type gosub "routine1" and I have possibility to add the code for the subroutine somehow... I mean, its not a big deal to just close the button properties and then F6 to the properties and land at the Actions but still sometimes (and I know it sounds stoner) I just loose track of what I was trying to do in the whole bouncing back and forth specially when there's a bunch of different interactions between the elements of a single page.

I been trying to tidy up the code into my applications and learned that its a lot easier to have it all in one place in most cases so I then organize sort of collections in the subroutine page, thats why I'm pretty much suggesting this... =)

cheers!
Last edited by stu on Fri Jul 31, 2015 10:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
stu
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 11:37 am

Re: Sub routines always present

Postby Tony Kroos » Fri Jul 31, 2015 10:25 am

Yeah subroutines should be more accessible from action editor, something like toolbar button and popup window with subs editor, and double-click on GoSub action should open subs editor as well (inside Gosub Properties dialog, or have special button (like in setvar dialog) to open multiline editor for subs).
Tony Kroos
 
Posts: 402
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 3:43 pm

Re: Sub routines always present

Postby Neosoft Support » Fri Jul 31, 2015 10:44 am

That's a good idea.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5605
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: Sub routines always present

Postby Ferdari » Fri Jan 29, 2016 1:20 pm

im with you! :P
http://www.noten.in
We have Apps!
Ferdari
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 9:34 pm

Re: Sub routines always present

Postby CN_Iceman » Sun Jan 31, 2016 8:54 am

I like that idea too.
Greetings/Saludos, Jose.
www.icemansoft.es
User avatar
CN_Iceman
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:04 am
Location: España

Re: Sub routines always present

Postby dpayer » Mon Mar 28, 2016 8:38 am

stu wrote:I don't know if anyone think this is useful or maybe there's a better way of doing this but I think It would be absolutely awesome to have the possibility of writing subroutines at any given moment,


I think something like that exists already doesn't it? Can't you CALL a function from a text file by that name in the same folder as your executable?

What would be helpful is to be able to CALL a function from a string variable (containing NB code) that could be written programmatically.
David Payer
Des Moines, Iowa
USA
User avatar
dpayer
 
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 5:55 am
Location: Iowa - USA

Re: Sub routines always present

Postby Gaev » Mon Mar 28, 2016 9:30 am

David Payer:

What would be helpful is to be able to CALL a function from a string variable (containing NB code) that could be written programmatically.

1) You could do something like ...
Code: Select all
SetVar "[thisFunction]" "!c:\someFolder\myFunction.txt"
FileWrite "![thisFunction]" "All" "blah, blah, blah"
Call "[thisFunction]" "param1" 'param2"


2) You could also embed Function files (generated at Design time) in your pub ... and then use ExtractFile at run time before Calling the file.
User avatar
Gaev
 
Posts: 3737
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:48 am
Location: Toronto, Canada


Return to NeoBook Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron