Page 1 of 1

Subroutine editor "Quick Jump"

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 5:25 am
by ebear
Hello Dave, All

Working with the Subroutine editor (scrolling Up - Down trough the scripts) I got "maybe" an Idea for a next update.
In my opinion it would be great to have a scroll box next to the editor with the Subroutine names. When clicking on the name the editor would Jump to the selected subroutine.

Image

This would make working with the editor a little bit more easy.

Best regards,

Eric

Re: Subroutine editor "Quick Jump"

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 6:20 am
by Cipolla
Yup! my vote for this. When dealing with 100+ subroutines this would be very handy :)

Re: Subroutine editor "Quick Jump"

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 7:00 am
by ebear
Cipolla wrote:Yup! my vote for this. When dealing with 100+ subroutines this would be very handy :)


Yes I would make switching between several sub's a lot quicker and easier. (in my image is the scroll bar missing ;-)

Re: Subroutine editor "Quick Jump"

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 7:53 am
by Wrangler
I don't see it in your pic, but my subroutine editor has a button with 2 little gears up in the top menu. This allows you to select a sub. You no got?

Re: Subroutine editor "Quick Jump"

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:18 am
by ebear
Hello Wrangler,

Your right but in the full screen editor these are gone. I use the full screen editor all the time for a better overview.
btw I think the gears are not so helpful as my proposal, but that me.... ;-)

Regards,

Eric

Re: Subroutine editor "Quick Jump"

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:23 am
by Wrangler
Yes. You're right. I didn't try the full screen. I agree that it is difficult to sift through a large number of subroutines. I have several projects that have a large number of really long subs, and I dread having to locate anything in them. Along with your suggestion, I would also suggest a 'bookmark' system, where you could bookmark a line number and return to it later.

Re: Subroutine editor "Quick Jump"

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:46 am
by Neosoft Support
That's a good idea! I'll add it to the list.

Re: Subroutine editor "Quick Jump"

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:48 am
by Gaev
IMHO, the "most efficient/effective way to meet this requirement" might be to have the resulting dropdown/list (when the Gears are clicked) displayed in a multi-column format (say 4 to 6 columns of 25 rows) ... or just a space separated list (so variable number of items in each row).

Multi-column sub-menus and links are quite common on many web pages ... not sure if it is just as easy to implement with Delphi.

Of course, the same response in full screen mode.

Re: Subroutine editor "Quick Jump"

PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2014 9:17 am
by smokinbanger
Here's one workaround...

First of all if you have a list box to the side of the editor area in the full screen editor you kind of defeat the purpose of using the full screen editor. However, the book properties dialog including the subroutine (and other) action editor is THE ONLY "non-full screen" editor in neobook that will remember its previous size even between sessions. I set the book properties dialog as large as possible which gives you a very nice size editor. Sure, you lose a little space on the left side for the buttons to switch between Size, Colors, Access, etc. vs. the full screen editor but probably not as much as you would with a list box next to a full screen editor. With this method you still retain the "gear" at the top to jump between subs. Iv'e also previously suggested being able to resize the other object properties dialogs to help with this same editor size issue: http://neosoftware.com/community/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=19537