Page 1 of 1

TAB Indent Blocks of Code

PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 1:32 pm
by Ndzn
In the editor there are times when I'd like to increase the indent of an entire block of highlighted code.

For example, say you have an existing routine that you now need to wrap in an IF statement. Rather than TAB each line-by-line, you would highlight the entire block, strike TAB, and the whole block would shift out. Likewise, Shift+TAB would decrease the indent...

I use Notepadd++ to do this now but I have to copy my code, toggle over to Notepad++, paste it, indent it, toggle back, paste it back in. (Whoops, that wasn't indented far enough... do it all over again)

It might be cool if the editor could do this. (?)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 2:32 pm
by HPW
I had asked for similar solution:

http://www.neosoftware.com/forum/viewto ... t=external

To be able to use an external tool comfortably would allow to use the best editors.

So a combobox with all defined tools in any action-dialog together with a new '%a' parameter would allow to edit the current action source in a editor. Choosing a tool from the combobox would select all code in the current action window and would put the source into the clipboard.
Then its start the external tool as defined.

When I am ready with editing I copy my source back to the clipboard.
In the action-editor I would paste back into the selected area whci will replace the code.

To be able to use a powerhorse like Ultraedit would allow much other things.

My 2 cents.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 2:48 pm
by Ndzn
Yes, getting to the tools menu is why I wrote ToolTray... so I could get to NeoBook Tools from any action editor. (A shameless little advert here, sorry!)

PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:09 pm
by bunker
In the meantime maybe NeoIndent helps you. take a look at
http://www.neosoftware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=17187.

Greetings

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 10:06 am
by Ndzn
Nice looking!