Page 1 of 1

Use debugger when exclusiv custom window

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 2:30 am
by HPW
The debugger is not responding when an exclusiv custom window is open.
This makes it difficult to debug a complex custom dialog.
I can not switch between the tabs or scroll long lists.
So if possible make it interaktiv again.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 8:52 am
by Wrangler
While we're suggestin' on custom windows, if you show a custom window using the customwindow action, and you move the main program window, the customwindow doesn't move with it. This looks so amateurish, I quit using this action.

Would be nice if it behaved the way calling a custom window with move and showobject actions. Then it behaves and moves with the main program window.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 10:15 am
by HPW
While we're suggestin' on custom windows, if you show a custom window using the customwindow action, and you move the main program window, the customwindow doesn't move with it. This looks so amateurish, I quit using this action.


Hm, when I have a exclusiv window, then I can not move the main window.
In non-exclusive mode I can move the main window and then the custom window does not move. But this is consistent with other programms I know.
For example my favourite editor UltraEdit show a ASCII-Table as a non-exclusive window and this does not move with the main window.
And I would not call UltraEdit amateurish!

What you are after, are dockable windows, which are a different thing.
In the past I faked such solution (with commands from hpwMenu) in the demo of hpwRemote with hpwSender/hpwReceiver where one window move with the other. Of cource not a real docking and not using custom windows.
Maybe a solution with AutoIt or hpwSetWindowPos(hpwSendKeys) could do the job.

Just my 2 cents.
:wink:

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 10:25 am
by Wrangler
Well, I guess if you look at it, it gives us the best of both worlds. In some instances you may want the custom windows independent. Like when you want to create many custom windows, and use them as movable tool palettes outside of the main window. I have yet to have a need for that, but who knows what comes down the trail.

I hereby withdraw my suggestion. It's not that much more work to use a little extra code with move and showobject.

Just pretend I was never here. :wink:

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 10:45 am
by HPW
Just make a little test.
I create:
Code: Select all
CustomWindow "MyCustWin" "-1" "-1" "ListBox1" "NoBorder+NoCloseBtn"


In my page action I put:
Code: Select all
hpwMenuSetVar "[hpwMenuPubPosSizeAction]" "hpwSetWindowPos [#34][#91]ListBox1.WinHandle[#93][#34] [#34][#91]WindowLeft[#93]+10[#34] [#34][#91]WindowTop[#93]+10[#34] [#34]256[#34] [#34]288[#34] [#34]1[#34]"


which looks at runtime:
Code: Select all
hpwSetWindowPos "[ListBox1.WinHandle]" "[WindowLeft]+10" "[WindowTop]+10" "256" "288" "1"


This make my cust-window move with the main window.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 11:03 am
by HPW
Another method I just tested:

Code: Select all
CustomWindow "MyCustWin" "-1" "-1" "ListBox1" "NoBorder+NoCloseBtn"
hpwSetWindowPos "[ListBox1.WinHandle]" "28" "184" "256" "288" "0"
hpwSetParent "[ListBox1.WinHandle]" "[WinHandle]"


This version does not need a OnMove-Action from hpwMenu.
It only uses hpwSendKeys-commands.
It makes the custom window a child window of the app-window.
So it move with the main window.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 11:05 am
by Wrangler
That's great, Hans. Into the snippet bank it goes.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 11:26 am
by Gaev
Wrangler:

From the Help File ...
options

...

FixedPos
The window is attached to the publication at a fixed position. The window will retain its relative position even when the publication window is moved. The window will not contain a title bar or border.
Isn't this what you are looking for ?

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 11:42 am
by Wrangler
Yes, Gaev. That IS what I was looking for. Never knew it was there.

Thanks.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:53 am
by HPW
I also wasn't aware of this option.

So now we can return to the thread-topic!

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:40 am
by Apoleo
Hi HPW, I asked the same thing long time ago. Neosoft Support said:

I'll add this to the list of things to fix in the next update. In the mean time, I would avoid using the step feature with exclusive mode custom windows. I apologize for the inconvenience.


Here's the thread:
http://www.neosoftware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=16090&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=

In version history document : 5.6.2 - November 24, 2008

The debugger’s pause/step feature is no longer disabled after displaying a custom window.


I've tried again with this version and nothing new. The same problem again. When a CustomWindow is displayed in Exclusive Mode, you can't use the Debugger, you have to close it for do it.

Saludos

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 8:27 pm
by hlmonok3dz
The fix was for a different problem. Unfortunately, it's not possible to interact with the debugger while a modal window (ie: exclusive mode) has control of the application.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 5:37 am
by Gaev
Unfortunately, it's not possible to interact with the debugger while a modal window (ie: exclusive mode) has control of the application
Could there be a "compromise solution" ... where the "exclusive mode" option is ignored by NeoBook when "the Debugger is active" ? ... i.e. if in Design Mode.

Or better still, give the developer the option to set this option on/off from one of the Book Menus ... in case there were other implications of testing a Modal Window in Non-Modal state.

After all, when the developer is testing/debugging his own pub, he would know to treat a Custom Window as if it were in Exclusive Mode even if it wasn't ... i.e. refrain from clicking outside the Custom Window.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 10:32 am
by Neosoft Support
That might work - I'll give it some thought.