Source language: Translate to:

NeoBook 5.6 Beta Released!

Information about NeoBook Updates

Moderator: Neosoft Support

Postby Wrangler » Sat Jul 12, 2008 9:19 am

AlfB:

You can change the size of the object window by dragging it out to the middle of the screen, resize it, and drag it back. It has always been this way.

I can confirm the last used pub not loading.

It also shows the new pub when starting with grid showing, even though it was turned off in the last used pub.
Wrangler
--------------
"You never know about a woman. Whether she'll laugh, cry or go for a gun." - Louis L'Amour

Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
16GB Ram
Asus GTX 950 OC Strix
Software made with NeoBook
http://highdesertsoftware.com
User avatar
Wrangler
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:40 pm
Location: USA

Postby Gaev » Sat Jul 12, 2008 9:34 am

Wrangler:
In another existing pub, this code no longer works:

Loop "1" "[flen]" "[x]"
FileRead "templates.dat" "[x]" "[templatename]"
StrParse "[templatename]" "\" "[name]" "[numparsed]"
ListBoxAddItem "listbox1" "0" "[name5]"
Endloop
StrParse command is looking for the 5th parsed item in [templatename] ... temporarily modifying the routine like so might help to diagnose the root cause ...
Code: Select all
Loop "1" "[flen]" "[x]"
   FileRead "templates.dat" "[x]" "[templatename]"
   StrParse "[templatename]" "\" "[name]" "[numparsed]"
   AlertBox "Line [x]" "[templatename]|[numparsed]|[name5]"
   ListBoxAddItem "listbox1" "0" "[name5]"
Endloop


BTW, are you running the .pub/.exe from the same folder as before ? ... in an earlier post you said you installed beta in "D:\something\etc." ... could have something to do with unexpected results.
User avatar
Gaev
 
Posts: 3738
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:48 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Postby smartmedia » Sat Jul 12, 2008 9:34 am

Hi...

FocusedObject and self variables are not working.
User avatar
smartmedia
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:50 am
Location: Hellas

Postby Alex » Sat Jul 12, 2008 9:45 am

Hi all,

I installed Neobook in a different folder to neobook 5.54 too. I use Windows XP Family Edition with the Service Pack 3 and I got a problem too during the installation.

I find the new look very very nice. Good job (like Visual Studio 2008)

When I push on F8 to start the pub, it is a little slow, maybe 2 or 3 sec more.
It publishes very well.

Best Regards


Alex
Alex
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 4:53 am

Postby Wrangler » Sat Jul 12, 2008 9:55 am

Good eyeballs, Gaev. Yes. Running it under Program files added another slash, so the array number is one off.

Actually, this kind of kills this piece of code, because there is no telling which directory the end user will install it in. I'll have to use something other than strparse.

Added: This works:

ExtractFileName "[templatename]" "[foldername]"

By the way, the comment/Uncomment feature is great!
Wrangler
--------------
"You never know about a woman. Whether she'll laugh, cry or go for a gun." - Louis L'Amour

Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
16GB Ram
Asus GTX 950 OC Strix
Software made with NeoBook
http://highdesertsoftware.com
User avatar
Wrangler
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:40 pm
Location: USA

Postby Neosoft Support » Sat Jul 12, 2008 10:56 am

I apologize for the unusual problems with the beta installation. The "Unable to register DLL/OCX" error only affects the NB5ActiveX.ocx, so if you select the "Ignore" option and continue with the installation the rest of NeoBook should function correctly. Do not choose the "about" option. A modified installation will be released shortly.

When double-clicking on an action name, inside any object action panel, no longer brings up the action properties panel if you do it over the first letters. Strange.


I cannot reproduce this here. Can you provide more details?

Draging an object inside a rectangle does not work as it should (it jumps from drop place to another).


Can you provide a sample publication that demonstrates this?

The "Would you like to take a quick tour" message appears everytime NeoBook starts.

NB5.6 doesn't re-open the last used pub, as did the previous versions.

It also shows the new pub when starting with grid showing, even though it was turned off in the last used pub.


I'm not able to reproduce these problems here, but they all indicate that something is preventing NeoBook from saving its settings to the registry. Is everyone having this problem or only those using Vista who installed NeoBook into a different folder?

When compiling my project and then using Software Passport, the protected file is giving me a "Test.exe is not a valid Win32 application" message.


I'm afraid that this is a problem with Software Passport. The format of the exe's created by NeoBook may be slightly different than previous versions because we're now using a newer edition of Delphi, but they are still definitely valid Win32 applications. You should be able to send Silicon Realms a copy of your exe and they can tweak Software Passport to correct the error.

...except for the fonts. Using a copy of an existing project, where the font was MS Sans Serif in black, was now Arial in very light gray color in disabled textentry boxes. Probably due to the boxes being disabled, but it showed fine in last stable version.


The update does display disabled text entry fields like Windows does to indicate that the field is disabled. The font face should not change unless the MS Sans Serif font has been removed from your system.

FocusedObject and self variables are not working.


I cannot reproduce this here. Can you supply a sample publication?

When I push on F8 to start the pub, it is a little slow, maybe 2 or 3 sec more. It publishes very well.


The delay is most likely caused by your virus scanner. Every time you run your publication, your virus scanner sees it as a new application and scans it before allowing it to execute. To eliminate this unnecessary delay you need to configure your virus scanner to ignore the folder where your publications are stored.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5605
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby Wrangler » Sat Jul 12, 2008 10:58 am

Pub title in IDE no longer shows pub size or number of colors.
Wrangler
--------------
"You never know about a woman. Whether she'll laugh, cry or go for a gun." - Louis L'Amour

Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
16GB Ram
Asus GTX 950 OC Strix
Software made with NeoBook
http://highdesertsoftware.com
User avatar
Wrangler
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:40 pm
Location: USA

Postby Wrangler » Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:04 am

The "Would you like to take a quick tour" message appears everytime NeoBook starts.

NB5.6 doesn't re-open the last used pub, as did the previous versions.

It also shows the new pub when starting with grid showing, even though it was turned off in the last used pub.

Is everyone having this problem or only those using Vista who installed NeoBook into a different folder?


I have the problems using xp sp2 and installing into a different folder.
Wrangler
--------------
"You never know about a woman. Whether she'll laugh, cry or go for a gun." - Louis L'Amour

Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
16GB Ram
Asus GTX 950 OC Strix
Software made with NeoBook
http://highdesertsoftware.com
User avatar
Wrangler
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:40 pm
Location: USA

Postby Neosoft Support » Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:11 am

Pub title in IDE no longer shows pub size or number of colors.


This was removed intentionally. I think 99.99% of all pubs are now created in 16 million color mode, so this information doesn't seem important enough to appear in the caption. The pub size could be put back if that's something everyone wants.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5605
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby Wrangler » Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:32 am

Don't really need number of colors. Pub size has come in handy for me when designing background graphics, so I make them the same size as the pub. I'd like to see it back.
Wrangler
--------------
"You never know about a woman. Whether she'll laugh, cry or go for a gun." - Louis L'Amour

Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
16GB Ram
Asus GTX 950 OC Strix
Software made with NeoBook
http://highdesertsoftware.com
User avatar
Wrangler
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:40 pm
Location: USA

Postby Wrangler » Sat Jul 12, 2008 12:04 pm

Oops. When you right click on a page tab, it no longer focuses the page like it did. I just deleted a page without intending to. :)
Wrangler
--------------
"You never know about a woman. Whether she'll laugh, cry or go for a gun." - Louis L'Amour

Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
16GB Ram
Asus GTX 950 OC Strix
Software made with NeoBook
http://highdesertsoftware.com
User avatar
Wrangler
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:40 pm
Location: USA

Postby Wrangler » Sat Jul 12, 2008 1:18 pm

When right clicking on a text box, after the text properties dialog shows, it also automagically shows the right click menu for the text, with the cursor at the end of the text.
Wrangler
--------------
"You never know about a woman. Whether she'll laugh, cry or go for a gun." - Louis L'Amour

Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
16GB Ram
Asus GTX 950 OC Strix
Software made with NeoBook
http://highdesertsoftware.com
User avatar
Wrangler
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:40 pm
Location: USA

Postby Neosoft Support » Sat Jul 12, 2008 1:29 pm

The NB5ActiveX.ocx file has been temporarily removed from the v5.6 installation which will eliminate the error messages until we can determine the cause.

If you're having problems associated with the installation, you can try downloading it again and see if that helps.

http://www.neosoftware.com/software/nbw56beta.exe
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5605
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby Gaev » Sat Jul 12, 2008 5:01 pm

Downloaded second beta for v5.6 ... on my XP Pro SP2 machine ... in a folder different from my current v5.5

a) Installation went smoothly.

b) When starting NeoBook ... ALWAYS asks if I want to take a tour ... when I say "Yes", it responds with error message ...

Quick Tour.pub
The file may be missing or damaged
Try running the Setup Program again


... I didn't ... and there is no such pub in the installed folder.

c) Even after changing Options>>>Preferencies>>>Startup Options>>>Open last edited publication ... NeoBook always starts with a blank window (as in option Open blank new publication)

d) In Action Editor ... when double clicking on the Action commands, it does not always popup the wizard for the command ... looks like the further to the right (within the command) you double click the better your chances of getting it to popup ... e.g. ...

SetVar
Return
AlertBox
RefreshObject
FileExists
FileErase
dbpCreateAccessDatabase
If
EndIf

... also, when command is indented, greater number of characters that will respond to double click.

e) The Page tabs are somewhat problematic ...

- right clicking on a tab does not automatically make it the "current/default" page as far as subsequent menu actions are concerned

- the tips (x of y) now appear to be blocking the tabs more than before (perhaps due to newer tab shapes) ... so when trying to click on a page tab, you end up clicking on the tip ... resulting in a "beep"

I like the new tab shapes ... and I believe some people requested the numbering ... I suggest the tip be placed further to the right ... or at least provide an option to turn the tips off.

f) In response to F7 ... the page list is correctly sorted ... but I don't think the "Show Images" Check Box works ... no difference whether it is checked or not.



g) [self] works ... [FocusedObject] works ...

h) Disabled TextEntry Box with font set to MS sans Serif ... displays the text in MS Sans Serif Font (albeit greyed out) ...

i) Right Clicking on a Text Box works as expected ... @wrangler: could it be that your mouse is acting up ? ... a year ago, I had a similar problem with the left mouse button ... every so often, a single click was registering as two single clicks ... drove me nuts while in IE ... a new mouse solved the problem.

j) Word wrap and comment/uncomment inside Action Editor both appear to work ... nice additions for developers.

k) Verified that ... the function editor no longer adds an extra empty line when saving files.
User avatar
Gaev
 
Posts: 3738
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:48 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Postby Wrangler » Sat Jul 12, 2008 5:23 pm

Just bought a hundred dollar Logitech mouse. MX Revolution. Seems to work correctly with everything else. Just the text boxes behave that way, and it doesn't do it in the last version.
Wrangler
--------------
"You never know about a woman. Whether she'll laugh, cry or go for a gun." - Louis L'Amour

Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
16GB Ram
Asus GTX 950 OC Strix
Software made with NeoBook
http://highdesertsoftware.com
User avatar
Wrangler
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:40 pm
Location: USA

PreviousNext

Return to NeoBook Upgrade News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest