Source language: Translate to:

Editor's Toolbox: Is it needed with 5.8?

Questions about NeoBook PlugIns

Moderator: Neosoft Support

Editor's Toolbox: Is it needed with 5.8?

Postby DantesGame » Sat Nov 29, 2014 10:46 am

Hi all,

Having just upgraded my NeoBook to the latest version and not having worked with it for the past five years or so, is a plugin like Editor's Toolbox even necessary with this latest build of NB? After reading the feature set of the Toolbox, it sounds or at least looks like a lot of that stuff has been built in to the new version of NeoBook.

Any thoughts/opinions on that?
DantesGame
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 1:15 pm

Re: Editor's Toolbox: Is it needed with 5.8?

Postby Neosoft Support » Mon Dec 01, 2014 12:59 pm

If you need a WYSIWYG editor, then Editor's Toolbox is still useful.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5602
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: Editor's Toolbox: Is it needed with 5.8?

Postby BRobinsonS » Mon Dec 01, 2014 6:07 pm

Can Editor's Toolbox use DBPro variables?
Would be handy for Mailmerge type usage?
Brian Robinson
'When all else fails, try again!'
www.ComputerSoftwareSystems.com
User avatar
BRobinsonS
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 9:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Editor's Toolbox: Is it needed with 5.8?

Postby Neosoft Support » Tue Dec 02, 2014 11:36 am

Can Editor's Toolbox use DBPro variables?


I don't know Editor's Toolbox very well, so I'm not sure. I suspect that if you embed variables in the text you will need to run it through the PopulateVariables action to make the contents of the variables show up in the document. You will have to experiment to see how well this works.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5602
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: Editor's Toolbox: Is it needed with 5.8?

Postby fkapnist » Thu Dec 04, 2014 3:02 pm

DantesGame wrote:Hi all,

Having just upgraded my NeoBook to the latest version and not having worked with it for the past five years or so, is a plugin like Editor's Toolbox even necessary with this latest build of NB? After reading the feature set of the Toolbox, it sounds or at least looks like a lot of that stuff has been built in to the new version of NeoBook.

Any thoughts/opinions on that?


I'm not sure if I should use the .rtf or .html format for text files in my NeoBook apps. The .rtf hyperlinks don't work the way I want. But I wonder what uses up more CPU memory, a .rtf textbox or a WebBowser object with an html file? The task manager should show the memory usage...

:?:

.
User avatar
fkapnist
 
Posts: 348
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:24 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Editor's Toolbox: Is it needed with 5.8?

Postby Neosoft Support » Fri Dec 05, 2014 12:02 pm

The WebBowser would probably use more memory, but I don't think it would be a significant problem except on a very old PC.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5602
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA


Return to PlugIn Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest