Source language: Translate to:

WebCam recognization

Questions about NeoBook PlugIns

Moderator: Neosoft Support

WebCam recognization

Postby Neobook » Fri Jun 29, 2007 6:05 am

Hello,

Do you know if any budy had see one time a WebCam Plugin who take first a picture of the user and when the user come back, it knows his person from the picture.

Thank you
Neobook

Re: WebCam recognization

Postby dpayer » Fri Jun 29, 2007 8:29 am

Neobook wrote:Hello,

Do you know if any budy had see one time a WebCam Plugin who take first a picture of the user and when the user come back, it knows his person from the picture.

Thank you

I have been studying Flash recently (I am no expert by any means) as I am trying to decide on a Flash editor.

It turns out that the ActionScript functionality allows Flash (v.8 +) to access webcam data.

I think we should be able to use that functionality to grab data. You will need to push it to a variable or some form of psuedo http server that will accept a post.

Here is a URL that describes the functionality:

http://www.macromedia.com/support/docum ... elp04.html

Here is a company selling a service that does webcam video messaging using only the flash web browser plugin to access the camera.

http://www.userplane.com/apps/videoRecorder.cfm

David P.
dpayer

Postby Neobook » Fri Jun 29, 2007 8:36 am

In Neobook Plugin, did you see some thing about webcam recognization ?
Neobook

Postby dpayer » Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:34 am

Neobook wrote:In Neobook Plugin, did you see some thing about webcam recognization ?

No, you have to study ActionScript, the scripting agent for Flash in order to make this work. It is not in the basic functionality of the NB Flash plugin - but I think it COULD be if that were added.

In fact, many of the capabilities of Flash could be integrated with the right commands.

Sounds like a new project for some agile programmer! Or Dave@Neosoft could make a "enhanced Flash plugin" as an additional product.

David P.
dpayer