Page 1 of 1

RunNeoBook command

PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 6:47 pm
by BRobinsonS
Trying to run a compiled second Neobook app from within another Neobook app.
The second app accesses the same Database as the one calling it. Copied app I want to run in same directory as first app.

Seems to execute Ok except when executing report(s) (2) I get the message it can't find the report and lists the full path to report in the original directory.

Checked that I used [PubDir] for the second app for the reports.

Not sure why I get this message.

Are the reports not compiled into the second app?

Re: RunNeoBook command

PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 11:28 am
by Neosoft Support
Report files .dbr will be compiled into the pub exe, but only if you use the full path name to the file in your code. If you use [PubDir] instead then the files will not be compiled. For example:

dbpPreviewReport "AddrBook" "C:\Users\NeoSoft\Documents\Sales.dbr" "DisplayMode=FacingPages"

Will compile the Sales.dbr file into the pub exe.

dbpPreviewReport "AddrBook" "[PubDir]Sales.dbr" "DisplayMode=FacingPages"

Will NOT compile into the pub exe. In this case, you will need to copy the Sales.dbr file into the same folder as the pub exe.

Re: RunNeoBook command

PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 1:23 pm
by BRobinsonS
So leave the full path when compiling the 2nd program.
Then, I can copy the program to the same directory as the 'calling' program, both of which use the same database and the report should work?

Sorry, I am asking this before I try.
I could build this into the calling program but I thought it was another excuse to learn Neobook more.

Re: RunNeoBook command

PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 2:59 pm
by BRobinsonS
Removed the [PubDir] and left the report name without a path and it works.
I was a little surprise with the size of the 2nd program until I realized I was using 2 scanned images of the forms at 300 dpi x 300 dpi.
Scanned because I don't have the original as a image.

I reduced to 150 x 150 dpi. Forms are not clear but will have to do.

Re: RunNeoBook command

PostPosted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 7:12 am
by dpayer
BRobinsonS wrote:Removed the [PubDir] and left the report name without a path and it works.
I was a little surprise with the size of the 2nd program until I realized I was using 2 scanned images of the forms at 300 dpi x 300 dpi.
Scanned because I don't have the original as a image.

I reduced to 150 x 150 dpi. Forms are not clear but will have to do.



Remember, you can change the resolution of bitmap images using MSPaint.exe which is part of every version of Windows out now. Your screen only displays at 92 DPI.

David P.

Re: RunNeoBook command

PostPosted: Wed Dec 25, 2013 12:18 pm
by BRobinsonS
But I would like a clear printed version.
92 dpi might not do it.

Re: RunNeoBook command

PostPosted: Thu Dec 26, 2013 7:44 am
by dpayer
BRobinsonS wrote:But I would like a clear printed version.
92 dpi might not do it.


Understood. If these are to be printed in Black/White, be sure to use grayscale or 1 bit for the depth of the image when scanning. This helps a lot.

David P.

Re: RunNeoBook command

PostPosted: Thu Dec 26, 2013 11:48 am
by BRobinsonS
I used Grayscale to scan and then convert to B&W got rid of the background color/colour(Canadian eh!) link pink,yellow .
Took some experimenting.
So I ended up with a decent image.

Thanksfor your suggestions.