Page 1 of 1

Why does the NB Browser suddenly stop showing Javascript

PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:25 am
by datadon
I have a javascript that runs Google Charts from data in NB, and while I am testing the script out (with errors etc) it seems to display the chart just fine in the NB
Browser as a string source. (except when my code is bad of course). But then at some point it stops showing the script part of chart as you can see in the image below
on the right side where I drew a black box. The code still runs fine in a regular browser using the internetlink action as you can see on the left.

My question is, does anyone know what the NB browser would suddenly stop displaying. It can't be the code. It does show the HTML portion at the top
but not the javascript chart.

Is it a security issue? I've checked and unchecked every button in the NB browser object.

Help!

Don








Image

Re: Why does the NB Browser suddenly stop showing Javascript

PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 10:08 am
by Gaev
Don:
as you can see in the image below on the right side where I drew a black box.
Where ? ... I don't see no black box.
does anyone know what the NB browser would suddenly stop displaying. It can't be the code. It does show the HTML portion at the top but not the javascript chart
Are you populating the Web Browser object with the BrowserGoTo command or the BrowserloadFromStr command ?

In either case, post the (HTML+Javascript) code that is being loaded.

Re: Why does the NB Browser suddenly stop showing Javascript

PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 10:46 am
by datadon
Well the image cut it off a bit, you can see it on the right side. I just drew it in, the chart would have shown there.

Here is the code:

Code: Select all
<html>
  <head>
    <script type="text/javascript" src="https://www.google.com/jsapi"></script>
    <script type="text/javascript">
      google.load("visualization", "1", {packages:["corechart"]});
      google.setOnLoadCallback(drawChart);
      function drawChart() {
        var data = google.visualization.arrayToDataTable([
['TaskOwner', 'Number of Task', 'Ready to Work', 'PR>1'],
['Donald Walker', 34, 20, 5],
['Bob Helper', 3, 3, 1],
['Will Rogers', 3, 3, 3],
['Tom Argo', 2, 2, 1],
['Erin ORylee', 1, 0, 0],
        ]);

        var options = {
          title: 'Project Performance by Task Owner',
          hAxis: {title: 'Task Owners', titleTextStyle: {color: 'red'}}
        };

        var chart = new google.visualization.ColumnChart(document.getElementById('chart_div'));
        chart.draw(data, options);
      }
    </script>
  </head>
  <body>
  <h2>  Friday, October 18, 2013</h2>
  <h4> Project:   Baylor University Football Stadium</h4>
  <h4> Reporter:   Will Rogers</h4>
  <Br>
<A HREF="http://projectglimpse.com">See Full Report Here</A>
    <!--Div that will hold the Col chart-->
    <div id="chart_div" style="width: 600px; height: 500px;"></div>
  </body>
</html>
  </body>
</html>


Re: Why does the NB Browser suddenly stop showing Javascript

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 10:54 am
by Neosoft Support
Are you using BrowserLoadFromStr to populate the browser? If so you will need to replace the [ and ] characters with [#91] and [#93]. Otherwise, NeoBook will try to interpret them as variables and screw up the html code before it reaches the browser.

Re: Why does the NB Browser suddenly stop showing Javascript

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 11:22 am
by datadon
Well I'll be a son of gun. That makes sense.

I use this code to create the sting that is then replaced in the javascript template. It creates the brackets using the [#91] etc.
I do the loop because I have changing amounts of data in different charts.

Now I need to create the string using the ascii code. Not sure I know how to do that. I put a ! in front of the ![#91] but that didn't do it.

Code: Select all
Loop "1" "[numberslicesx]" "[now]"
Filewrite "[pubdir]items2.txt" "Append" "[#91][#39]##C1[now]##[#39], ##C2[now]##, ##C3[now]##, ##D4[now]##[#93],"
Endloop


I guess I will have to do a second replacement outside of NB unless someone knows how to do that.

Re: Why does the NB Browser suddenly stop showing Javascript

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 11:42 am
by Neosoft Support
I'm not sure exactly what you mean, but here is your original code with the square brackets replaced:

Code: Select all
<html>
  <head>
    <script type="text/javascript" src="https://www.google.com/jsapi"></script>
    <script type="text/javascript">
      google.load("visualization", "1", {packages:[#91]"corechart"[#93]});
      google.setOnLoadCallback(drawChart);
      function drawChart() {
        var data = google.visualization.arrayToDataTable([#91]
[#91]'TaskOwner', 'Number of Task', 'Ready to Work', 'PR>1'[#93],
[#91]'Donald Walker', 34, 20, 5[#93],
[#91]'Bob Helper', 3, 3, 1[#93],
[#91]'Will Rogers', 3, 3, 3[#93],
[#91]'Tom Argo', 2, 2, 1[#93],
[#91]'Erin ORylee', 1, 0, 0[#93],
        [#93]);

        var options = {
          title: 'Project Performance by Task Owner',
          hAxis: {title: 'Task Owners', titleTextStyle: {color: 'red'}}
        };

        var chart = new google.visualization.ColumnChart(document.getElementById('chart_div'));
        chart.draw(data, options);
      }
    </script>
  </head>
  <body>
  <h2>  Friday, October 18, 2013</h2>
  <h4> Project:   Baylor University Football Stadium</h4>
  <h4> Reporter:   Will Rogers</h4>
  <Br>
<A HREF="http://projectglimpse.com">See Full Report Here</A>
    <!--Div that will hold the Col chart-->
    <div id="chart_div" style="width: 600px; height: 500px;"></div>
  </body>
</html>
  </body>
</html>

Re: Why does the NB Browser suddenly stop showing Javascript

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 12:04 pm
by datadon
Did you get this to run in your NB browser? It does not run in mine. What about the double quotes, does that need to be ascii'd out also?

Re: Why does the NB Browser suddenly stop showing Javascript

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 12:46 pm
by datadon
I finally figured it out. Has nothing to do with brackets etc.

This is the right code snippet:

Code: Select all
['TaskOwner', 'Number of Task', 'Ready to Work', 'PR>1'],
['Donald Walker', 34, 20, 5],
['Bob Helper', 3, 3, 1],
['Will Rogers', 3, 3, 3],
['Tom Argo', 2, 2, 1],
['Erin ORylee', 1, 0, 0]
        ]);


This is the wrong code snippet:

Code: Select all
['TaskOwner', 'Number of Task', 'Ready to Work', 'PR>1'],
['Donald Walker', 34, 20, 5],
['Bob Helper', 3, 3, 1],
['Will Rogers', 3, 3, 3],
['Tom Argo', 2, 2, 1],
['Erin ORylee', 1, 0, 0],
        ]);


Do you see the little comma at the far right of the Erin ORylee line, after the 0] on the right. That is the problem.

What is so odd about it is that it will display with the comma is any browser except the NB browser. Or at least the ones I have.

So to solve this,I need to make sure when I create my loop, which puts a comma at the end of each line, that I go back and remove it from the last line.

Sorry to have wasted yall's time on this but it had me baffled. :roll:

Re: Why does the NB Browser suddenly stop showing Javascript

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 11:01 am
by Neosoft Support
What is so odd about it is that it will display with the comma is any browser except the NB browser. Or at least the ones I have.


Who knows. Usually when JavaScript code contains a type it won't work at all. It could be that some browsers will ignore certain typos. (NB's browser is actually Internet Explorer.)

Anyway, glad you figured it out.

Re: Why does the NB Browser suddenly stop showing Javascript

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 11:08 am
by datadon
I understand. Actually all is working fantastic right now. This is a great way to generate charts, at least until Google changes something on me. There are other options for this other than Google, but theirs is working pretty well right now for a javascript illiterate like me.