Source language: Translate to:

Dynamic reports using compound variables

Questions about our Advanced Database plug-in

Moderator: Neosoft Support

Dynamic reports using compound variables

Postby smokinbanger » Sun Oct 28, 2012 12:44 pm

Is there a way to select which table a report is generated from at run time? For example;

The variable syntax for table fields on a report are as follows:
Code: Select all
[TableName.FieldName]

However, if we need to generate the same report using different tables it would seem logical to use a syntax where the TableName is a compound variable like:
Code: Select all
[[TableName].FieldName]
where "[TableName]" is a variable selected from a list of tables like a Combo Box or List Box with content generated with dbpGetTableNames.
Using a compound variable in reports doesn't seem to work properly as it normally would anywhere else in a publication. Is there a way to accomplish this?
Just Sayin'...
smokinbanger
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 9:53 am
Location: United States

Re: Dynamic reports using compound variables

Postby Neosoft Support » Mon Oct 29, 2012 11:03 am

I'm sorry, the report generator cannot understand compound variables.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5605
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: Dynamic reports using compound variables

Postby smokinbanger » Tue Oct 30, 2012 6:13 pm

I might be able to read the report file into a binary stream and replace the variables dynamicly and then right it back to a temporary file at run time. I'll letchy'all know how it goes :mrgreen:
Just Sayin'...
smokinbanger
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 9:53 am
Location: United States


Return to NeoBookDBPro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron