Source language: Translate to:

dbpOpenTable Performance

Questions about our Advanced Database plug-in

Moderator: Neosoft Support

dbpOpenTable Performance

Postby asawyer13 » Fri Aug 31, 2012 12:11 pm

I have a remote MySQL database. I have a table that have about 20000 records in it.

When I issue the dbpOpenDatabase command, it shows it as connected.

When I issue the dbpOpenTable "datbase" "table" it does but it takes about 3 minutes.

I'm assuming it's pulling down the total file from the remote server.

Is there some way to eliminate that? I actually will just be adding records to the table.

Thanks
Alan
asawyer13
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 6:13 pm

Postby smokinbanger » Fri Aug 31, 2012 2:31 pm

Use dbpExecSQL. Here is a quote from the dbPro help file listed with the dbpOpenTable reference:
Note: By default, dbpOpenTable will perform a "show all" type query on the table as soon as it's opened. This is desirable for small and medium sized tables, but may degrade performance with extremely large tables. Instead, you may prefer to open large tables with the dbpExecSQL action, so you can limit the amount of data returned and improve performance.
smokinbanger
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 9:53 am
Location: United States

Postby asawyer13 » Fri Aug 31, 2012 4:45 pm

Thanks I didn't know that would open the table.

Excellent

Alan
asawyer13
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 6:13 pm

Postby smokinbanger » Fri Aug 31, 2012 5:13 pm

Essentially it can execute any SQL command as long as the database supports the command. This is limited is some instances though. To learn more about SQL commands here is a good start:
http://www.w3schools.com/sql/default.asp
smokinbanger
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 9:53 am
Location: United States


Return to NeoBookDBPro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest