Source language: Translate to:

Correct use of Display and Edit Masks

Questions about our Advanced Database plug-in

Moderator: Neosoft Support

Correct use of Display and Edit Masks

Postby BRobinsonS » Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:52 pm

Perhaps my use is not correct.

I am using a Text Entry field to enter Prices into a Table.
I want to right align the content in the Text Entry field but it doesn't seem to have an alignment feature.

At the same time, I would like to use an edit mask and display the value such as 234.45 or $234.45 .

Tried using dbpSetFieldProperties with no luck.
This is for Grids or any Text Edit field?

Should I be doing this another way?
Brian Robinson
'When all else fails, try again!'
www.ComputerSoftwareSystems.com
User avatar
BRobinsonS
 
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 9:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Postby Neosoft Support » Wed Aug 22, 2012 12:21 pm

The dbpSetFieldProperties action only works for text displayed in a grid. You can right align text in a grid, but the Text Entry field does not have any alignment or formatting options.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5593
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby BRobinsonS » Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:54 pm

A bit disappointing there isn't a work around.
Brian Robinson
'When all else fails, try again!'
www.ComputerSoftwareSystems.com
User avatar
BRobinsonS
 
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 9:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Postby BRobinsonS » Thu Aug 23, 2012 8:31 am

Using the Grid, is there a way to trigger an action moving from column to column?

Specifically I order to use the formatting using the grid, I want to input dollar values i.e. 23.25, 14.00, 9.25 and have it update the total field (4th column) as I move from column to column.
Brian Robinson
'When all else fails, try again!'
www.ComputerSoftwareSystems.com
User avatar
BRobinsonS
 
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 9:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Postby Neosoft Support » Thu Aug 23, 2012 10:18 am

I'm sorry, the grid doesn't provide any event when changing columns. The best way to handle calculations is to use a form instead. Take a look at the Order Entry sample pub included with DBPro to see how we handled a similar problem.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5593
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby BRobinsonS » Thu Aug 23, 2012 10:41 am

Take a look at the Order Entry sample pub included with DBPro to see how we handled a similar problem.
I did look to see what was done. If formatting was available on the form, I would be a happy person.

Would like the dollars and cents format for data entry or at least display.

Maybe in the future?
Brian Robinson
'When all else fails, try again!'
www.ComputerSoftwareSystems.com
User avatar
BRobinsonS
 
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 9:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada


Return to NeoBookDBPro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest