Source language: Translate to:

Moving data from a server to another

Questions about our Advanced Database plug-in

Moderator: Neosoft Support

Moving data from a server to another

Postby David de Argentina » Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:37 pm

Hi all,

I need move some data from a database to another, located on another server.

I need do this using MySQL enviroment, via SQL statement, because speed is very important.

If both databases were located on the same server, i would do something like this:

dbExecSQL "db" "insert into TargetDatabase.Table Select * from SourceDatabase.Table" ""

But each session allows to connect to one server.

Any ideas ?

Thanks in advance,
David de Argentina
User avatar
David de Argentina
 
Posts: 1553
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 4:13 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Postby smartmedia » Wed Jun 22, 2011 9:40 pm

Hi..

David you can use Export and import after using a Query. If your data are critical i suggest you to use PHPMyAdmin from your server to export and import. Also you can try the method you have describe but make sure you have kept backup your database in all situations.
User avatar
smartmedia
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:50 am
Location: Hellas

Postby David de Argentina » Thu Jun 23, 2011 9:18 am

Thanks Smartmedia,

But i need go to another direction.

I just noticed about an engine called Federated of MySQL that -apparently- does exactly i need. See:

http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.5/en/ ... ngine.html

The oficial forum of MySQL has some posts, but refered to very old distributions of MySQL Server, that there are slightly different...

Does any know how to activate this engine over Windows MySQL Server ?

Thanks in advance,
David de Argentina
User avatar
David de Argentina
 
Posts: 1553
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 4:13 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Postby smartmedia » Thu Jun 23, 2011 12:06 pm

Hi..

David,
i don't think that this is the solution you looking for. From the decription i understand that Federation only collect data from a remote MySQL server to local without to keep the data on local.
The FEDERATED storage engine lets you access data from a remote MySQL database without using replication or cluster technology. Querying a local FEDERATED table automatically pulls the data from the remote (federated) tables. No data is stored on the local tables.


So if you concern is to keep data in 2 servers at the same time you need to use real time replication.
More on replication you can find here.
http://www.mysql.com/products/enterpris ... ation.html

I repeat that if you want to move only once the data from 1 server to 2 then it's better to use export & import.
User avatar
smartmedia
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:50 am
Location: Hellas

Postby beno » Sat Jun 25, 2011 3:49 pm

Do you have shell access to your servers?
User avatar
beno
 
Posts: 678
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 9:03 am
Location: México

Postby David de Argentina » Mon Jun 27, 2011 10:40 am

Hi Beno,

Thanks a bunch for your interest.

I have access to one Server shell, but i need normalize the process in any place the another server were located.

I had noticed MySQL Server for Windows can't run any shell program or scripting.

Greetings from Buenos Aires,
David de Argentina
User avatar
David de Argentina
 
Posts: 1553
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 4:13 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina


Return to NeoBookDBPro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron