Source language: Translate to:

My SQL Remote connection security

Questions about our Advanced Database plug-in

Moderator: Neosoft Support

My SQL Remote connection security

Postby chromebandit » Mon May 23, 2011 11:41 am

Hi there,

Iam able to connect remotely to one of my sql databases...

how do i connect securely..?? is it save in general? iam using a ssl conection but anyway is it may better to use a php script to connect to the database what should i do
:idea: :?:

Regards.
User avatar
chromebandit
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 5:00 pm

Postby asawyer13 » Mon May 23, 2011 3:56 pm

I am hoping that SSL would be okay for security because I have some apps I want to set up that way, but php is definitely a good way to go. Just more work to do it thru a service.
asawyer13
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 6:13 pm

Re: My SQL Remote connection security

Postby dpayer » Mon May 23, 2011 7:19 pm

chromebandit wrote:Hi there,

Iam able to connect remotely to one of my sql databases...

how do i connect securely..?? is it save in general? iam using a ssl conection but anyway is it may better to use a php script to connect to the database what should i do
:idea: :?:

Regards.


If you can connect to your server via ssh, you should be able to open a connection to your local host address (127.0.0.1) on your machine and it will be conveyed to the remote machine. Make the database connection AFTER you have established the SSH connection.

David P.
User avatar
dpayer
 
Posts: 1380
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 5:55 am
Location: Iowa - USA

HowTo connect Mysql via SSL or SSH

Postby impulsmedia » Wed May 25, 2011 5:46 am

Hi there!

Just found this thread and I´m very interested in secure connections to to a MySQL databases out of NB. How do you realize this? Thanks for any hints.
thanks in advance and greetings from Germany,
Walter
impulsmedia
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 9:01 am
Location: GERMANY

Postby Neosoft Support » Wed May 25, 2011 10:30 am

NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5593
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby dpayer » Wed May 25, 2011 1:27 pm

Neosoft Support wrote:Maybe this will help:

http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.5/en/windows-and-ssh.html


Good reference. I had forgotten about port forwarding and I think the client I used (above) did it automatically.

David P.
User avatar
dpayer
 
Posts: 1380
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 5:55 am
Location: Iowa - USA


Return to NeoBookDBPro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests