Source language: Translate to:

Show Defaul Name/Values in Fields

Questions about our Advanced Database plug-in

Moderator: Neosoft Support

Postby Wrangler » Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:29 am

After new record is added:

setvar "[db.table.field]" "John"

Change to your db ID.tablename.fieldname
Wrangler
--------------
"You never know about a woman. Whether she'll laugh, cry or go for a gun." - Louis L'Amour

Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
16GB Ram
Asus GTX 950 OC Strix
Software made with NeoBook
http://highdesertsoftware.com
User avatar
Wrangler
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:40 pm
Location: USA

Postby Wrangler » Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:55 am

Post the code you are using please.
Wrangler
--------------
"You never know about a woman. Whether she'll laugh, cry or go for a gun." - Louis L'Amour

Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
16GB Ram
Asus GTX 950 OC Strix
Software made with NeoBook
http://highdesertsoftware.com
User avatar
Wrangler
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:40 pm
Location: USA

Postby Wrangler » Tue Nov 04, 2008 11:31 am

Is you database id general database, or databaseid1? Both should be your database ID.
Wrangler
--------------
"You never know about a woman. Whether she'll laugh, cry or go for a gun." - Louis L'Amour

Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
16GB Ram
Asus GTX 950 OC Strix
Software made with NeoBook
http://highdesertsoftware.com
User avatar
Wrangler
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:40 pm
Location: USA

Postby rcohen » Tue Nov 04, 2008 11:33 am

lacarrye,

What is the variable set to inside of your text entry object or whatever you are using to display this field's data ?

Also, did you enter any "default text" into this object? If so, then clear the value (probably reading "John") and leave it blank (null).

rcohen
User avatar
rcohen
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 7:29 pm
Location: The Smokey Mountains, Tn

Postby Wrangler » Tue Nov 04, 2008 11:35 am

dbpAddRecord "DatabaseID1" "GeneralTable"
setvar "[DatabaseID1.generaltable.description]" "john"
Wrangler
--------------
"You never know about a woman. Whether she'll laugh, cry or go for a gun." - Louis L'Amour

Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
16GB Ram
Asus GTX 950 OC Strix
Software made with NeoBook
http://highdesertsoftware.com
User avatar
Wrangler
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:40 pm
Location: USA

Postby Wrangler » Tue Nov 04, 2008 11:36 am

As Rob said, check the variable inside of your text entry object too.
Wrangler
--------------
"You never know about a woman. Whether she'll laugh, cry or go for a gun." - Louis L'Amour

Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
16GB Ram
Asus GTX 950 OC Strix
Software made with NeoBook
http://highdesertsoftware.com
User avatar
Wrangler
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:40 pm
Location: USA

Postby Wrangler » Tue Nov 04, 2008 11:39 am

might need to refresh db after.
Wrangler
--------------
"You never know about a woman. Whether she'll laugh, cry or go for a gun." - Louis L'Amour

Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
16GB Ram
Asus GTX 950 OC Strix
Software made with NeoBook
http://highdesertsoftware.com
User avatar
Wrangler
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:40 pm
Location: USA

Postby Neosoft Support » Tue Nov 04, 2008 11:41 am

To update the grid, you need to force NeoBook to update the database:

dbpAddRecord "DatabaseID1" "GeneralTable"
setvar "[DatabaseID1.generaltable.description]" "john"
dbpSaveEdits "DatabaseID1" "GeneralTable"
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5605
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby Wrangler » Tue Nov 04, 2008 11:41 am

or saveedits
Wrangler
--------------
"You never know about a woman. Whether she'll laugh, cry or go for a gun." - Louis L'Amour

Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
16GB Ram
Asus GTX 950 OC Strix
Software made with NeoBook
http://highdesertsoftware.com
User avatar
Wrangler
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:40 pm
Location: USA

Next

Return to NeoBookDBPro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests