Source language: Translate to:

dbpDefineRelationship

Questions about our Advanced Database plug-in

Moderator: Neosoft Support

dbpDefineRelationship

Postby cp4w » Tue Dec 18, 2007 3:55 pm

Has anybody used " dbpDefineRelationship" command.

I tried it in Access and it does not seem to work.

I tried to make a relationship between the contacts and the State tables in the sample pub and to see if only the state that is being pointed to in the state table would show in the contacts grid.
cp4w
 
Posts: 533
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 4:37 pm
Location: Great Neck, NY

Postby Wrangler » Tue Dec 18, 2007 6:59 pm

Dave stated to me not long ago that there were some minor problems with this action and will be fixed in the next update.
Wrangler
--------------
"You never know about a woman. Whether she'll laugh, cry or go for a gun." - Louis L'Amour

Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
16GB Ram
Asus GTX 950 OC Strix
Software made with NeoBook
http://highdesertsoftware.com
User avatar
Wrangler
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:40 pm
Location: USA

Postby Gaev » Tue Dec 18, 2007 6:59 pm

Steven:
I tried to make a relationship between the contacts and the State tables in the sample pub and to see if only the state that is being pointed to in the state table would show in the contacts grid.

I am assuming that ...

a) you coded ...
Code: Select all
dbpDefineRelationship "AddressBook" "States" "Abbr" "Contacts" "State"

b) when you navigate to (say) the record with field Abbr=FL in the "States" table, you expected to see just the two records in the "Contacts" table with field State=FL

Are these assumptions fundamentally correct ?

Note that field Abbr is defined as String(2) while field State is defined as String(10) ... don't know if they have to be identical or both being a "string" type is sufficient.
User avatar
Gaev
 
Posts: 3736
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:48 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Postby cp4w » Tue Dec 18, 2007 8:46 pm

Are these assumptions fundamentally correct ?

Yes they are.

Note that field Abbr is defined as String(2) while field State is defined as String(10) ... don't know if they have to be identical or both being a "string" type is sufficient.


That is a good question. I assumed that both being a string is good enough.
cp4w
 
Posts: 533
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 4:37 pm
Location: Great Neck, NY

Postby smartmedia » Tue Dec 18, 2007 9:50 pm

Hi...

Shx,

I have work with dbpDefineRelationship and i can tell you that is working 99% on access database.

You must have in your mind to make it work that 2 or more identical fileds in different tables must exist.

Thanks
User avatar
smartmedia
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:50 am
Location: Hellas

Postby Neosoft Support » Wed Dec 19, 2007 10:56 am

I have work with dbpDefineRelationship and i can tell you that is working 99% on access database.


That's probably about right. The command works well except when the master field is empty. This will be fixed in the update which should be ready this week.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5603
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA


Return to NeoBookDBPro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest