Source language: Translate to:

Empty, Delete and Drop Tables -- Access DB

Questions about our Advanced Database plug-in

Moderator: Neosoft Support

Empty, Delete and Drop Tables -- Access DB

Postby beno » Mon Oct 15, 2007 7:46 pm

Hi,

I have a program that creates a Access database.

It creates a table dynamically where some temprary data is stored. But this process is heavily used.

Once I need to update this table I have tried:

DeleteAll
Empty
Drop

But I can observe how the .mdb files grows each time I run this process.

It seems that the previous values stored in this table remains there ... and the file grows a similar amount of Kb each time I Delete/Empty/Drop and create it again and do my stuff to store the new values there.

Mmmhh ... As this process is going to be used real frequent for this project I do not like the idea that my database file will keep growing wild.

Is not supposed that the Dropped or Empty data in the table should dissappear?

What do I´m missing?

In the .dbf world there was a Delete---> Pack and this last one get rid nice of the deleted stuff...

Ideas? ... is this a bug?

TIA,

beno
User avatar
beno
 
Posts: 678
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 9:03 am
Location: México

Postby Gaev » Mon Oct 15, 2007 8:24 pm

beno:

It says here http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb177897.aspx that You must close the table before you can delete it or remove an index from it..

So, try and invoke dbpCloseTable BEFORE you do the dbpDropTable/dbpEmptyTable commands.
User avatar
Gaev
 
Posts: 3736
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:48 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Postby beno » Mon Oct 15, 2007 8:49 pm

Hi Gaev,

Thanks for your help.

Mmmh it seems to make no difference.

In the meantime I have isolated this temporary table to a temporary database. So at the end of my program I close this database and get rid of the database file.

Well, not the best solution and a real dirty trick...

But in the meantime is better for me.

Saludos,

beno
User avatar
beno
 
Posts: 678
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 9:03 am
Location: México

Postby Neosoft Support » Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:42 am

It may be possible to add an action to compact Access databases to a future version of DBPro. I will look into it.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5603
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA


Return to NeoBookDBPro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest