Page 1 of 1

dbpGetParameter

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 5:52 am
by antonio45
Hi,

I think it is usefull to add dbpGetParameter action


Mehmet BAKITKAL

dbpGetParameter

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 6:12 am
by antonio45
DbpGetParameter must return the parameter names. So I can pass parameter with DbpSetParameter to these names

Thank you

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:35 am
by Neosoft Support
I've found that many databases don't provide a list of parameters for stored procedures. I think Oracle does, but most others do not. Also, using a stored procedure generally requires that you know something about what it's going to do, including what parameters it requires. I'm not sure knowing the names of the parameters will help much if you don't know what type of data they require.

dbpGetParameter

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 11:17 am
by antonio45
Hi,
I want to make a simple tool like a Queary Analyzer (Microsoft Sql Server), so if you open any stored procedure , a windows is being opened and it is being showed parameters, so you can enter value for that parameters. If it is impossible I must look different ways.

Thank you for your reply.

Mehmet BAKITKAL

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2007 10:32 am
by Neosoft Support
So dbpGetParameter would simply return a list of parameter names? For example:

Param1
Param2
Param3

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2007 5:27 pm
by Neosoft Support
A dbpGetProcedureParameter action was added to beta 2.3.

http://www.neosoftware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=15314

Mehmet BAKITKAL: Can you please test this with Microsoft Sql Server?

dbpGetParameter

PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 6:38 am
by antonio45
Hi,

First Thank you for the dbpGetProcedureParameters action. It is working true but it is producing an additional parameter @Return_Value. But the other parameters is enough and true for user.

Thank you again for your help.

Mehmet BAKITKAL

dbpGetParameter

PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 8:45 am
by antonio45
Hi,

I set these actions in button action.
dbpSetParameter "[ID]" "[ParamName]" "[ParamValue]"
dbpExecProc "[ID]" "[ProcedureName]" "[TableName]"

At first run, these actions is working succesfully. But If I select another stored procedure from listbox and Run the stored procedure, fpllowing error occured;

Cannot perform this operation on an open dataset

How can I close dataset which I run before ?

Thank You

Mehmet BAKITKAL

Re: dbpGetParameter

PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 4:46 pm
by Neosoft Support
Cannot perform this operation on an open dataset


This has been fixed in v1.0.