Page 1 of 2

Set proxy configuration

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 4:27 am
by Alex
Hi,

I have a software that need to validate a serial number on the Internet on my server.

I use this software in a company. The software has access to the Internet but can't validate anything. The IT manager told me that is because the software want to use a direct Internet access without passing by the proxy. Is there a way to say the software to use the proxy?

Thanks


Alex

Re: Set proxy configuration

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:17 am
by Neosoft Support
What actions are you using to communicate with the server?

Re: Set proxy configuration

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 5:32 am
by Alex
Hi,

I use Internetpost.

Thanks


Alex

Re: Set proxy configuration

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 8:19 am
by dpayer
Alex wrote:Hi,
I have a software that need to validate a serial number on the Internet on my server.
I use this software in a company. The software has access to the Internet but can't validate anything. The IT manager told me that is because the software want to use a direct Internet access without passing by the proxy. Is there a way to say the software to use the proxy?
Thanks
Alex


I find it quite odd that the IT manager indicates you are trying to bypass the proxy. If he has a http proxy that is not configured in the network configurations (in Internet Explorer, click TOOLS/INTERNET OPTIONS/CONNECTIONS[TAB]/SETTINGS[BUTTON] ) then he must be forcing some sort of authentication via a http specific proxy.

Have him give you the proxy details. If it is an http specific proxy, you will have to authenticate with the credentials he gives you. If it is not an http specific proxy, then whatever computer you are using SHOULD ALREADY BE SET UP to use a proxy. If it is not, you will still need the proxy details and you can configure it using a script. Here is a link for a script that should accomplish that goal.

FYI there are different types of proxies. When you go to a hotel that gives WIFI, you have to authenticate manually. On a corporate network, you may have a proxy for http traffic to cache downloads or the proxy may work in conjunction with a firewall. If your project is one required by this business, they must give you the means to access the Internet if it is otherwise blocked.

David P.

Re: Set proxy configuration

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 12:12 pm
by Neosoft Support
Thanks David! You are our resident proxy expert.

Re: Set proxy configuration

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:49 am
by Alex
Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

What's strange is that I replace InternetPost action by a simple WebBrowser object that does BrowserExport and then it works!

Thanks


Alex

Re: Set proxy configuration

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 4:44 am
by dec
Hi to all,

Alex, maybe you can try also with "InternetGet" action instead of "InternetPost". It's possible that the server did not accept HTTP POST requests or simply allow only HTTP GET requests.

Re: Set proxy configuration

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:12 am
by Alex
Hi,

Yes but I need to post text on the website. But when I use WebBrowser Object then it works.

Thanks


Alex

Re: Set proxy configuration

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 2:10 pm
by Gaev
But when I use WebBrowser Object then it works.

Perhaps it uses some 'hidden variables' that you are not including when you try it via the InternetPost command ... what url do you use to call up the web page containing the form that you then submit (via a Button click ?)

Re: Set proxy configuration

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 6:57 am
by Alex
Hi Gaev,

I use this link : http://ns11.freeheberg.com/~alex4563/nu ... 4check.php

Then I enter in the URL (before it was in the InternetPost option) the serial number from the app and then the application validate.

Thanks


Alex

Re: Set proxy configuration

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 8:27 am
by Gaev
Alex:
I use this link : http://ns11.freeheberg.com/~alex4563/nu ... 4check.php

Your link navigates to
Code: Select all
http://ns11.freeheberg.com/~alex4563/null/null4check.php
... and the response from the website is ... ERROR>Invalid secret
Then I enter in the URL (before it was in the InternetPost option) the serial number from the app and then the application validate.

I don't understand ... elaborate with an exact example.

Re: Set proxy configuration

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 1:41 pm
by Alex
Hi,

I explain.

This link is to validate the serial number of my applications.

I use the php to control into the server is the number exist and to validate it.

I use the link: http://ns11.freeheberg.com/~alex4563/nu ... 4check.php to navigate and I use some variable to check if the serial is OK.

Example:
InternetPost "http://ns11.freeheberg.com/~alex4563/null/null4check.php" "serial=[keyclee]" "[response]" "HideProgress"

And when I use this command, in some company, I get blocked because it doesn't use the proxy to going on the Internet to validate the serial.

Now, if I use a WebBrowser object, then I use the link:
http://ns11.freeheberg.com/~alex4563/nu ... hp&serial=[keyclee]
and then it works, it goes on the Internet by the proxy and it validate the serial number.

Thanks


Alex

Re: Set proxy configuration

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 3:36 pm
by Gaev
Alex:

I tried this url from my (Firefox) Browser ...
Code: Select all
http://ns11.freeheberg.com/~alex4563/null/null4check.php?serial=12345
... and I still get the response of ERROR>Invalid secret ... which hints at some kind of secret parameter/value that it is looking for ... can you provide a real value for serial that works for you ?
And when I use this command, in some company, I get blocked because it doesn't use the proxy to going on the Internet to validate the serial.
... not sure if proxy is the right term here ... but the company's Firewall might not be allowing 'traffic to flow out from your program' ... but when you use the WebBrowser object, it might be going out because the Firewall thinks it is going out from Internet Explorer (which is the engine that NeoBook deploys when you use the Webbrowser object).

By the way, when you enter the url for the WebBrowser object as indicated by you ... that is the equivalent of InternetGet ... have you tried ...
Code: Select all
InternetGet "http://ns11.freeheberg.com/~alex4563/null/null4check.php?serial=12345" "[Result]" ""
... in your NeoBook program ?

Also, can you use InternetPost to access another website (that responds to a Post request) ? ... if you can do so from the same Company where this one fails, then the issue is with ns11.freeheberg.com ... otherwise, the company's Firewall migh be blocking all such requests.

Re: Set proxy configuration

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 4:41 pm
by Alex
Hi Gaev,

"it might be going out because the Firewall thinks it is going out from Internet Explorer (which is the engine that NeoBook deploys when you use the Webbrowser object)"
Yes you are right.

I made some tests in the company and the WebBrowser object validate the serial number.

The guy explained me that the computer use a proxy that goes to the firewall that goes to the hardware firewall.

I don't understand the difference between InternetPost and InternetGet. I thought that InternetGet was to get a website? Or is it the same as BrowserGoTo and the command BrowserExport?

I didn't try this function. I need to check.

Thanks


Alex

Re: Set proxy configuration

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 6:05 pm
by Gaev
Alex
I made some tests in the company and the WebBrowser object validate the serial number.
Again, what exact url did you use ? ... because I kept getting that error message.

Did you have to login/sign in first ?
I don't understand the difference between InternetPost and InternetGet. I thought that InternetGet was to get a website?
This is a subject that can not be explained in a few sentences ... do a Google search for 'Get and Post methods'.

When you pass parameters to a website by appending them after the webpage address, it is done via the Get method.

When you fill out a form ... and click on a Button, it is (more often than not) sent via a Post method.
Or is it the same as BrowserGoTo and the command BrowserExport?
BrowserGoTo would imply a Get method.

BrowserExport is a NeoBook facility to ... copy 'the content sent by a website' as a result of the most recent (Get/Post) request within a WebBrowser object ... and 'paste it into a NeoBook variable'.