Source language: Translate to:

Canvas Does Not Allow Drawing

Questions about using NeoBook's scripting language

Moderator: Neosoft Support

Canvas Does Not Allow Drawing

Postby domino » Wed Jun 30, 2010 4:21 am

I have been given a DVD with 1520 image files to process. - I have copied these to a directory on my Hard Drive.

1. There are many duplicates
2. The file names have all sorts of assorted ( ? ) type characters and spaces.

I need to regularise the file names and remove the duplicate files.

As part of this process I have
1. created a Directory listing of files in ListBox1
2. Set a loop to STR replace characters with - (dashes) and remove spaces
3. Arranged for the modified strings to populate ListBox2

This works fine until the loop reaches 1052 - then NB freezes with error message "Canvas Does Not Allow Drawing"

I believe this error is caused by lack of Windows Resources.

If I run the loop from 1 to 750 - it works fine
Then shut down NB
Then run the loop from 750 to 1520 it works fine

If I create two button
Button 1 - populate ListBox 1 with items 1-750 (OK)

Button 2 - starts loop at 750 to populate ListBox2

The programme fails with the Canvas error on item 302

As a matter of interest if I simply try to file write the results instead of populating list boxes the programme also fails with a similiar error at approximately the same point.

Why is this happening? I'd appreciate your thoughts.

(Windows 7 64bit - Athlon Phenom2 X4 - No other programmes or background tasks out of the ordinary running)

** Stop Press - If I compile the PUB rather than operating in Test Mode it all works OK.. **

Cheers
Dave
User avatar
domino
 
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 7:11 am
Location: Notts UK

Postby Neosoft Support » Wed Jun 30, 2010 10:25 am

I'm not sure what would cause an error like that. If you can supply a sample publication that demonstrates the problem, I would be happy to take a look.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5603
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby domino » Wed Jun 30, 2010 12:09 pm

Thank you - if it happens again I will.
User avatar
domino
 
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 7:11 am
Location: Notts UK

Postby Horst Helfen » Thu Jul 01, 2010 5:28 am

Maybe this link could help you: http://inborne.mykb.com/Article_7A622.aspx
Horst Helfen

Programmers don't die, they just GOSUB without RETURN.
User avatar
Horst Helfen
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 4:11 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Postby domino » Thu Jul 01, 2010 6:06 am

Thanks Horst - In fact I had visited that page after "Googling" the error.

I rewrote a few things and it's no longer a problem either in Test Mode or from a Compiled pub.

However when troubleshooting the original problem I did notice a number of instances of the offending pub in the task manager window. Not sure why.
User avatar
domino
 
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 7:11 am
Location: Notts UK


Return to NeoBook Action Commands

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest

cron