Source language: Translate to:

FocusedObject Problem

Questions about using NeoBook's scripting language

Moderator: Neosoft Support

FocusedObject Problem

Postby cp4w » Thu Mar 04, 2010 7:56 am

I'm having a problem with the focused object variable.


It only returns a value when the object that is being focused is a text entry box, a list box, or a combo box.

When the object being focused is a radio button or a checkbox it doesn't register.
It still things you're focused on the previous text entry field or combo or list box.

This makes it unusable for me.

any help?
cp4w
 
Posts: 533
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 4:37 pm
Location: Great Neck, NY

Postby Neosoft Support » Thu Mar 04, 2010 11:01 am

Normally the [FocusedObject] variable only contains the name of objects where the input focus matters (text entry, etc.). If you want to use the tab key to highlight and focus other types objects, you need to turn on the "display visible marquee to indicate item with keyboard focus" option (see Book Properties > Access).

What is it you're trying to accomplish?
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5593
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby cp4w » Thu Mar 04, 2010 2:39 pm

I am giving field level help.

When the user is in a textentry called address i will be displaying help message to assist in the entry of data.

So the problem now is that the user is in a textentry box called address and I displaying a field level help and then they move to a radio button not only does it not tell me the radio button name but it still tells me the textentry box name. so I can not update the help message. If it will not say the name of the radio button it should at least not still say the name of the textentry box that is no longer in focus.
cp4w
 
Posts: 533
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 4:37 pm
Location: Great Neck, NY

Postby Neosoft Support » Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:51 am

Try using the object's mouse enter/exit actions of each object instead. You can show help information on mouse enter and hide it on mouse exit.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5593
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby cp4w » Fri Mar 05, 2010 2:20 pm

doesn't work when the user tabs to the field
cp4w
 
Posts: 533
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 4:37 pm
Location: Great Neck, NY

Postby Neosoft Support » Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:18 pm

I'm sorry, I guess it's not going to work. I'll print out this topic and add it to the list of things to look into for the next maintenance update.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5593
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Postby smartmedia » Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:28 pm

Neosoft Support wrote:I'm sorry, I guess it's not going to work. I'll print out this topic and add it to the list of things to look into for the next maintenance update.


You don't print my topics in order to fix it.. lol. :D
User avatar
smartmedia
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:50 am
Location: Hellas

Postby Neosoft Support » Mon Mar 08, 2010 11:17 am

You don't print my topics in order to fix it.


Not true. I have a whole folder with your name on it. :wink:
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5593
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA


Return to NeoBook Action Commands

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest