Source language: Translate to:

Trace Map?

General questions about using NeoPaint

Moderator: Neosoft Support

Trace Map?

Postby lancerunolfsson » Mon Mar 16, 2015 1:08 pm

Is there a way to place a picture like a map on the screen and then draw over it in a different layer? What I want to do specifically is trace maps of Europe from various historical period political boundaries. The underlay a map with the physical geography like mountains etc then be able to trace those.
Thanks
lancerunolfsson
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 12:46 pm

Re: Trace Map?

Postby Neosoft Support » Tue Mar 17, 2015 10:18 am

You could open the original map image in NeoPaint 5, then use the Layer Properties option from the Layers menu to adjust the opacity of the map. This will make the map look faded, but will make it easier to draw on top of it. You can experiment to see what opacity level works best. Next, use the Layer menu to add a new layer to the image. You can draw whatever you like on the new layer without affecting the map image underneath.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5593
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: Trace Map?

Postby lancerunolfsson » Tue Mar 17, 2015 10:57 am

Ahh I have Neopaint 4.7! I guess I will have to upgrade. But $45.00 is not bad. Thanks for your reply
lancerunolfsson
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 12:46 pm

Re: Trace Map?

Postby Neosoft Support » Wed Mar 18, 2015 1:49 pm

Users of v4.7 can upgrade to v5 for $35.

http://www.neosoftware.com/order-upgrade.html

Thank you for using NeoPaint!
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
 
Posts: 5593
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA


Return to General NeoPaint Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest