Source language: Translate to:

requested operation requires elevation

General questions about NeoBook

Moderator: Neosoft Support

requested operation requires elevation

Postby RJH » Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:11 am

I have created a training Cd with neobook which works fine so far, however several PDF documents are included these also work fine at the moment using the neobookpdf plugin.
The problem is some people may not have adobe reader installed, so I have obtained a licence from adobe and have a copy of the reader for redistribution.
If i run the reader install application in windows it works fine,I now need users to be able to install adobe reader from within my application.
But when I use the run command in Neobook I get a message saying this operation requires elevation.
I have tried runinrectangle with the same result.

I have a button with the following command
Run"[PubDir]AdbeRdr810_en_US.exe" "RunOnce+Wait+LoadComplete" "" "[AppId]" ""

Has anyone any idea what the issue is.
RJH
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 1:41 am
Location: Bolton

Postby Skywalker » Sat Feb 19, 2011 3:46 am

I don't have 810 but I tried 707 on my WIN7 system with no trouble.

Run"[PubDir]AdbeRdr707_en_US_distrib.exe" "RunOnce+Wait+LoadComplete" "" "[AppId]" ""

This setup file is "InstallShield" format

The newer Adobe Installers are SelfExtracting files I think.

They Extract to the Destop.

This could be what the trouble is.... not sure.
Never give up trying. Just try it another way that works for you.
User avatar
Skywalker
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 2:19 am
Location: Ohio, USA

Postby RJH » Sat Feb 19, 2011 5:20 am

Thanks for the reply Skywalker

I have just tried the publication on xp and it works fine unfortunately my machine uses VISTA which is bobbins so its probably just an admin rights issue again.

I will keep taking the pills and trying on other machines

Again thanks for the info
RJH
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 1:41 am
Location: Bolton

Postby Skywalker » Sat Feb 19, 2011 5:36 am

When it comes to Vista.... it's out the window for me.

I think that version of Windows Should be banned! :lol:

Good Luck my friend!
Never give up trying. Just try it another way that works for you.
User avatar
Skywalker
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 2:19 am
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: requested operation requires elevation

Postby fkapnist » Wed Jun 07, 2017 5:44 pm

there is a DOS command you can use to run as administrator in command line:

nircmd elevate notepad.exe C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\etc\HOSTS

Syntax: [ Download ] [ Hide ]
Using Neobook Syntax Highlighting
Run "[PubDir]nircmd.exe " "elevate [#34]C:\yourfolder\yourprogram.exe[#34] C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\etc\HOSTS" "RunOnce" "" ""
Parsed in 0.006 seconds, using GeSHi 1.0.8.10
User avatar
fkapnist
 
Posts: 348
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:24 pm
Location: Greece

Re: requested operation requires elevation

Postby dpayer » Thu Jun 08, 2017 7:13 am

fkapnist wrote:there is a DOS command you can use to run as administrator in command line:

nircmd elevate notepad.exe C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\etc\HOSTS

Syntax: [ Download ] [ Hide ]
Using Neobook Syntax Highlighting
Run "[PubDir]nircmd.exe " "elevate [#34]C:\yourfolder\yourprogram.exe[#34] C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\etc\HOSTS" "RunOnce" "" ""
Parsed in 0.005 seconds, using GeSHi 1.0.8.10


Have you forgotten that you installed nircmd as a separate application?

http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/nircmd.html

This would need to be installed first before doing the command you mention above.
David Payer
Des Moines, Iowa
USA
User avatar
dpayer
 
Posts: 1380
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 5:55 am
Location: Iowa - USA

Re: requested operation requires elevation

Postby fkapnist » Thu Jun 08, 2017 9:58 am

yes, I should have mentioned that NirCmd is a separate freeware program
NirCmd is a small command-line utility that allows you to do some useful tasks without displaying any user interface. By running NirCmd with simple command-line option, you can write and delete values and keys in the Registry, write values into INI file, dial to your internet account or connect to a VPN network, restart windows or shut down the computer, create shortcut to a file, change the created/modified date of a file, change your display settings, turn off your monitor, open the door of your CD-ROM drive, and more...



http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/nircmd.html

:oops:
User avatar
fkapnist
 
Posts: 348
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:24 pm
Location: Greece

Re: requested operation requires elevation

Postby dpayer » Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:00 am

fkapnist wrote:yes, I should have mentioned that NirCmd is a separate freeware program
:oops:


A program that quite likely requires elevation to install.
David Payer
Des Moines, Iowa
USA
User avatar
dpayer
 
Posts: 1380
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 5:55 am
Location: Iowa - USA

Re: requested operation requires elevation

Postby fkapnist » Mon Jun 12, 2017 9:19 am

dpayer wrote:
fkapnist wrote:yes, I should have mentioned that NirCmd is a separate freeware program
:oops:


A program that quite likely requires elevation to install.



I made a pub to launch Neobook.exe but it kept asking for elevation even though my user account is the administrator. Nircmd solved it but like you say only because user is administrator. Why didn't the pub work?

:?:
User avatar
fkapnist
 
Posts: 348
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:24 pm
Location: Greece


Return to General NeoBook Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests